Cant takes first win of the season in Waaslandcross

Sanne Cant (Iko-Crelan)
Sanne Cant (Iko-Crelan) (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Sanne Cant claimed her first victory of the 2019-2020 season in Sint-Niklaas, winning the DVV Trofee Waaslandcross. The world champion overcame a last-lap crash to out-sprint Dutch rider Aniek van Alphen.

Cant was on strong form, making the selection early in the race with Van Alphen the only rider able to hold onto her surge.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
Pos.Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sanne Cant (Bel) Iko – Crelan 0:39:47
2Aniek Van Alphen (Ned) 0:00:06
3Kata Blanka Vas (Hun) 0:00:21
4Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal 0:00:44
5Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Iko – Crelan 0:01:04
6Loes Sels (Bel) Iko – Crelan 0:01:09
7Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) 0:01:38
8Kim Van De Steene (Bel) Tarteletto - Isorex 0:02:00
9Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) 0:02:33
10Suzanne Verhoeven (Bel) 0:02:44
11Mascha Mulder (Ned) Group Hens - Maes Containers 0:02:49
12Veerle Goossens (Ned) 0:03:24
13Elodie Kuijper (Ned) 0:03:31
14Marlies Vos (Ned) 0:03:46
15Fem Van Empel (Ned) 0:03:55
16Mari-Liis Mõttus (Est)
17Camille Devigne (Fra) 0:04:16
18Tessa Zwaenepoel (Bel) 0:04:24
19Hannah Van Boven (Ned) 0:04:39
20Didi De Vries (Ned) 0:04:43
21Famke Van Waterschoot (Ned)
22Mirthe Van Den Brande (Bel) 0:04:53
23Emily Werner (USA)
24Esther Van Der Burg (Ned) 0:04:59
25Ffion James (GBr) 0:05:09
26Shana Maes (Bel) 0:05:22
27Letizia Borghesi (Ita) 0:05:32
28Giada Borghesi (Ita) 0:05:39
29Kätlin Kukk (Est)
30Lotte Baele (Bel)
31Lise Van Wunsel (Bel) 0:05:49
32Rebecca Gross (USA) 0:06:07
33Tinne Vermeiren (Bel) 0:06:13
34Siobhan Kelly (Can)
35Yenthe Van Lommel (Bel)
36Meg De Bruyne (Bel)
37Marie Lynn (GBr)
38Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen – Bingoal
39Nele De Vos (Bel)
40Naomi De Roeck (Bel)
41Guzel Akhmadullina (Rus)
42Lina Beirinckx (Bel)
43Sara Beeckmans (Bel)
44Michelle Geoghegan (Irl)
45Karen De Keulenaer (Bel)
46Nathalie Verschelden (Bel)
47Rosalie Janssens (Bel)
48Imke Storms (Bel)
DNFJinse Peeters (Bel)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.

Latest on Cyclingnews