Langvad and Van der Poel Win First Ever World Cup Short Tracks

The first ever Mountain Bike World Cup short track (XCC) was held on Friday evening in Albstadt, Germany, with Annika Langvad (Specialized) and Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) coming out the winners. The top-16 finishers in the women and men will fill the first two rows for Sunday's cross-country (XCO) races, plus the event offered World Cup substantial points – 50 per cent of the XCO.

The 1.7-kilometre course began with the start of the cross-country circuit on pavement and then grass past the tech zone, followed by a section of the singletrack near the end of the XCO circuit and the pavement finish.

Jolanda Neff (Kross Racing) took the hole shot through the first corner for the women, but a group of 15 formed at the front by the end of the first lap, including most of the favourites, except for Catharine Pendrel (Clif Pro Team) and Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Canyon Factory), who had to chase hard to get back to the leaders.

The lead yo-yo'd through the remaining eight laps, with no one able to open an advantage. However, Langvad, who had remained tucked in the middle of the group until that point, launched an attack halfway through the final lap to take the win ahead of Neff and Linda Indergand (Focus XC). The win cemented Langvad's lead in the World Cup standings.

By finishing in the top 16, some riders dramatically improved their start positions for the XCO, while others lost out. The winners were Barbara Benko (Ghost Factory), Kate Courtney (Specialized) and Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Merida), who will jump to the front row. The losers were Ferrand Prevot and Sabine Spitz (Wiawis Bikes), who drop to the third row.

The men's race featured an immediate upset, when world champion Nino Schurter (Scott-SRAM) had to stop right after the start to fix a problem with his electronic shifting. Schurter chased for a few laps before eventually abandoning, and will now start on the third row for Sunday's XCO. At the front, the race was dominated from start to finish by Van der Poel.

World Cup leader Sam Gaze (Specialized) had to chase up from a poor start, but joined the front group and then marked Van der Poel. The Dutch former cyclo-cross world champion attacked with a little more than two laps to go, and the rest of the group did not react for a lap before Maxime Marotte (Cannondale Factory) finally started to chase. Van der Poel easily soloed in for the win, and Gaze outsprinted Mathias Flueckiger (Thomus-RN Racing) for third.

Gaze continues to lead the World Cup standings, but Van der Poel has jumped from fourth to second and Marotte moves into third, while Schurter drops to fourth. On the start line for the XCO, the winners are Mathias and his brother Lukas, plus Lars Forster (BMC) and Marco Fontana (Cannondale Factory) - all jump to the front row; Fontana up from the fifth row. Losers are Schurter and Anton Cooper (Trek Factory), who drop to the third row from the first.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country)Result
1Annika Langvad (Den)0:23:56
2Jolanda Neff (Swi)0:00:02
3Linda Indergand (Swi)Row 2 - Cell 2
4Alessandra Keller (Swi)0:00:06
5Barbara Benkó (Hun)Row 4 - Cell 2
6Kate Courtney (USA)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Nor)0:00:12
8Maja Wloszczowska (Pol)0:00:13
9Chloe Woodruff (USA)0:00:14
10Anne Tauber (Ned)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Erin Huck (USA)0:00:15
12Emily Batty (Can)0:00:16
13Annie Last (GBr)0:00:20
14Kathrin Stirnemann (Swi)Row 13 - Cell 2
15Catharine Pendrel (Can)0:00:21
16Jitka Škarnitzlová (Cze)0:00:23
17Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra)0:00:27
18Elisabeth Brandau (Ger)0:00:30
19Sabine Spitz (Ger)0:00:31
20Karla Štepánová (Cze)0:00:36
21Anne Terpstra (Ned)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Lea Davison (USA)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Eva Lechner (Ita)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Katarzyna Solus-Miskowicz (Pol)0:00:37
25Yana Belomoina (Ukr)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Ramona Forchini (Swi)0:00:39
27Sabrina Enaux (Fra)0:00:40
28Githa Michiels (Bel)0:00:41
29Daniela Campuzano Chavez Peon (Mex)0:00:45
30Rebecca Mcconnell (Aus)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Jovana Crnogorac (Srb)0:00:47
32Haley Smith (Can)0:00:49
33Mariske Strauss (RSA)0:00:50
34Tanja Žakelj (Slo)0:00:51
35Irina Kalentyeva (Rus)0:00:52
36Adelheid Morath (Ger)0:01:28
37Samara Sheppard (NZl)0:01:56
38Elisabeth Osl (Aut)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Raiza Goulao Henrique (Bra)Row 38 - Cell 2
DNSKatrin Leumann (Swi)Row 39 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Men's Race Results
#Rider Name (Country)Result
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned)0:25:00
2Samuel Gaze (NZl)0:00:03
3Mathias Flueckiger (Swi)Row 2 - Cell 2
4Maxime Marotte (Fra)0:00:04
5Lars Forster (Swi)0:00:05
6Florian Vogel (Swi)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Lukas Flueckiger (Swi)0:00:06
8Marco Aurelio Fontana (Ita)0:00:07
9Reto Indergand (Swi)0:00:08
10Jordan Sarrou (Fra)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Henrique Avancini (Bra)0:00:09
12Marcel Guerrini (Swi)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Titouan Carod (Fra)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Stephane Tempier (Fra)0:00:10
15Martins Blums (Lat)0:00:11
16Nicola Rohrbach (Swi)0:00:12
17Manuel Fumic (Ger)0:00:13
18Martin Loo (Est)0:00:14
19Catriel Soto (Arg)0:00:32
20Jan Škarnitzl (Cze)0:00:33
21Karl Markt (Aut)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Victor Koretzky (Fra)0:00:34
23Nadir Colledani (Ita)0:00:35
24Anton Cooper (NZl)0:00:39
25Anton Sintsov (Rus)0:00:45
26Carlos Coloma Nicolas (Spa)0:00:49
27Jaroslav Kulhavý (Cze)0:00:50
28Thomas Litscher (Swi)0:00:51
29Daniel Mcconnell (Aus)0:00:52
30Andri Frischknecht (Swi)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Hugo Drechou (Fra)0:00:53
32Gregor Raggl (Aut)0:01:05
33Luiz Henrique Cocuzzi (Bra)0:01:50
34Luca Braidot (Ita)0:01:55
35Pablo Rodriguez Guede (Spa)0:02:03
36Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita)0:02:23
37Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (Spa)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Sebastian Fini Carstensen (Den)Row 37 - Cell 2
39David Valero Serrano (Spa)Row 38 - Cell 2
DNFNino Schurter (Swi)Row 39 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1