Skip to main content

Van der Poel overcomes crash with course marshall to win in Diegem

Image 1 of 8

Michael Vanthourenhout (Marlux-Bingoal)

Michael Vanthourenhout (Marlux-Bingoal) (Image credit: Luc Claessen/Getty Images)
Image 2 of 8

Mathieu van der Poel wins in Diegem

Mathieu van der Poel wins in Diegem (Image credit: Luc Claessen/Getty Images)
Image 3 of 8

Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus)

Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) (Image credit: Luc Claessen/Getty Images)
Image 4 of 8

Wout van Aert (Cibel-Cebon)

Wout van Aert (Cibel-Cebon) (Image credit: Luc Claessen/Getty Images)
Image 5 of 8

Lars van der Haar (Telenet-Fidea)

Lars van der Haar (Telenet-Fidea) (Image credit: Luc Claessen/Getty Images)
Image 6 of 8

Toon Aerts (Telenet-Fidea)

Toon Aerts (Telenet-Fidea) (Image credit: Luc Claessen/Getty Images)
Image 7 of 8

Michael Vanthourenhout, Mathieu van der Poel and Toon Aerts on the podium

Michael Vanthourenhout, Mathieu van der Poel and Toon Aerts on the podium (Image credit: Luc Claessen/Getty Images)
Image 8 of 8

Mathieu van der Poel in the lead

Mathieu van der Poel in the lead (Image credit: Luc Claessen/Getty Images)

Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) won yet again in Diegem, maintaining his 100 per cent record in the Superprestige series after a long solo ride and a mid-race crash.

Michael Vanthourenhout (Marlux-Bingoal) took second place 14 seconds back, while 39 seconds down Toon Aerts (Telenet Fidea Lions) rounded off the podium, coming in ahead of teammate Lars van der Haar.

The victory, which saw Van der Poel recover from a crash with a marshal at the midpoint of the race, marks the end of a dominant 2018 festive season for the Dutchman. It’s his fourth in eight days, having taken victories in the World Cup at Namur and Zolder, and in the DVV Trofee at Azencross.

It took a while for the action to really get going on the rainy, floodlit course in Diegem, with Van der Poel and Van Aert getting caught further back in the peloton at the start. Instead, the pack was fairly compact in the opening stages, with a large group up front, including three Telenet Fidea Lions men.

Vanthourenhout was the first to make a move, going on the offensive towards the end of lap one and fracturing the group for good. Van der Poel threw his glasses away as he accelerated to the wheel in the sandpit, making it a leading duo.

Toon Aerts (Telenet Fidea Lions) emerged in a solo third place, while Wout Van Aert (Cibel-Cebon) remained some way out of the reckoning, albeit making his way steadily through the pack.

The race’s major incident came just as Van der Poel was starting to gap Vanthourenhout. A marshal who was stood on the course just before a right-hand bend failed to move out of the way in time, with van der Poel unable to avoid a collision.

The Dutchman came up clutching his neck, but quickly remounted and set off in pursuit of the new leader Vanthourenhout. It wasn’t long before he was back up front, and soon after he was off – accelerating away en route to another victory, his 20th of the season.

Further back, Van Aert had made his way up to the Telenet duo of Aerts and Van der Haar, with Vanthourenhout surely his next victim. That move didn’t come though, with Van Aert unable to separate himself from his companions.

Aerts eventually made the podium-clinching move, getting away on a grass section late on. He would ride solo to third place, while Van der Haar got the better of Van Aert, who settled for a distant fifth place to end the year.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon - Circus1:03:56
2Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:00:14
3Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:39
4Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Telenet Fidea Lions0:00:43
5Wout Van Aert (Bel)0:00:56
6Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:01:05
7Quinten Hermans (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:01:12
8Joris Nieuwenhuis (Ned)0:01:22
9Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:01:29
10Jens Adams (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:01:34
11David Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon - Circus0:01:49
12Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Steylaerts - 7770:01:53
13Tom Meeusen (Bel) Corendon - Circus0:02:39
14Nicolas Cleppe (Bel) Telenet Fidea Lions0:02:51
15Daan Soete (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:02:55
16Michael Boroš (Cze) Creafin Tüv Sud0:02:57
17Stan Godrie (Ned) Crelan - Charles0:03:01
18Sieben Wouters (Ned) Creafin Tüv Sud0:03:05
19Thomas Pidcock (GBr) Tp Racing0:03:11
20Gioele Bertolini (Ita) Selle Italia - Guerciotti - Elite0:03:20
21Zdeněk Štybar (Cze)0:03:25
22Ben Turner (GBr) Corendon - Circus0:03:37
23Vincent Baestaens (Bel)0:03:48
24Stephen Hyde (USA)
25Ryan Kamp (Ned)0:03:49
26Eli Iserbyt (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:04:21
27Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Marlux - Bingoal0:04:24
28Diether Sweeck (Bel) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:04:41
29Loris Rouiller (Swi)0:05:13
30Tomas Kopecký (Cze) Pauwels Sauzen - Vastgoedservice0:05:19
31Gage Hecht (USA)0:05:40
32Thymen Arensman (Ned)0:05:47
33Jakob Dorigoni (Ita) Selle Italia - Guerciotti - Elite0:06:53
34Bart Artz (Ned)
35Curtis White (USA)
36Michael Van Den Ham (Can) Garneau-Easton P/B Transitions Lifecare
37Severin Sägesser (Swi)
38Daniel Tulett (GBr) Tp Racing
39Gunnar Holmgren (Can)
40Mario Junquera San Millan (Spa)
41Erno Jacob Mccrae (Bel)
42Garry Millburn (Aus)
43Matthias Van Roy (Bel)
44Nicholas Smith (Aus)
45Max Judelson (USA)
46Cameron Mason (GBr)
47Balázs Vas (Hun)
48Senne De Meyer (Bel)
49Tomas Misser Vilaseca (Spa)
50Edwin De Wit (Bel)
51Tyler Orschel (Can)
52Nicholas Diniz (Can)
53Yu Takenouchi (Jpn)
54Cameron Jette (Can)
55Jonatan Östlund (Swe)
56Tyler Cloutier (USA)
57Philipp Heigl (Aut)
58Yelle Leaerts (Bel)
59Finlay Robertson (GBr)
60James Edmond (GBr)
61Filip Stark (Swe)
62Peter Olejniczak (USA)
63Josh Bauer (USA)
64Declan Prosser (Aus)
65Matthew Lister (GBr)
66Ryan Middlemiss (GBr)
67Marvin Runhaar (Ned)
DNFTim Merlier (Bel) Crelan - Charles
DNFYorben Van Tichelt (Bel)
DNFTyla Loftus (GBr)
DNSTom Martin (GBr)
DNSToby Perry (GBr)


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Ostanek

Daniel Ostanek has been a staff writer at Cyclingnews since August 2019, having joined in 2017 as a freelance contributor and later part-time production editor. Before Cyclingnews, he was published in numerous publications around the cycling world, including Procycling, CyclingWeekly, CyclingTips, Cyclist, and Rouleur, among others. As well as reporting and writing news and features, Daniel runs the 'How to watch' content throughout the season.

Daniel has reported from the world's top races, including the Tour de France, and has interviewed a number of the sport's biggest stars, including Egan Bernal, Wout van Aert, Remco Evenepoel, Mark Cavendish, and Anna van der Breggen. Daniel rides a 2002 Landbouwkrediet Colnago C40 and his favourite races are Strade Bianche and the Vuelta a España.

Latest on Cyclingnews