Takenouchi takes Nobeyama 'cross

The Third Nobeyama Cyclocross Race title was successfully defended by current Nartional Champion Yu Takenouchi (Team Eurasia). Second place went to the ageless Masanori Kosaka (Suwako Racing Team) ahead of Atushi Maruyama (Team Massa-Andex) in third

A UCI C.2 event with over 60 of Japan's elite racers as well as two invited riders from the United States lined up at the start of a 2.5 km course set around the popular Takizawa Ranch. The twisty challenging course was heavy and muddy from rain the day before. A flyover bridge and detour through the food pavilion were other features on this popular course.

The day began under clear skies with the temperature was in the single digits. A cold wind blowing off the nearby snow capped Yatsugatake mountain range did little to cool the enthusiastic crowd of spectators.

In the first lap the early leader was Kosaka Hikaru (son) with small group Takenouchi, Kosaka (Papa) and Maruyama close behind 5 seconds back. They came together as the approached the tough 150 meter long mud section situated midway through the lap . Two under 23 riders Kohei Maeda and Toki Sawada were ahead of Molly Cameron who was in 7th place. Brennan Wodtli was mid pack after starting from the back line.

Takenouchi, recently returned from Belgium after a four-week, seven race program, was in the lead by a few seconds by the end of the first lap end. He kept this small gap for the 2nd lap but slowed to let the chasing Kosaka senior and Maruyama to catch up and form a working group of three. Kosaka (son ) was alone in 4th place. Wodtli had worked his way up to 12th.

The front three stayed together for next three laps. Kosaka (son) was still alone in behind Wodtli had caught Sawada who was in 5th. Maeda was ahead of Cameron who was in 8th.

Takenouchi was watching the other two while riding in 3rd position seeing how they rode and looked for their weak points. Kosaka (son) sheared off his rear derailleur just as he was passing the pits, which were just after the tricky mud section. He was lucky to be able to run back and exchange bikes and keep his place. Wodtli and Sawada were battling each other. Sawada being swifter through the mud while the other had the poser to close back the gaps.

Towards the end of the 6th lap Takenouchi made his move putting in a strong attack,entering a shorter mud section he gapped Kosaka (papa) who could not hold his wheel. Maruyama had started to fade and was 20 seconds back. Takenouchi increased his lead over the final two laps and was clearly the strongest in his first race back in Japan. Kosaka (papa) was safe in second ahead of Maruyama. Sawada won the battle over Wodtli for 5th and 6th and Cameron came in at 8th place behind Michimasa Nakai.

UCI Women's Race

National Champion, veteran Ayako Toyooka (Panasonic Ladies) powers to victory ahead of Sakiko Miyauchi (Club Viento) and Laura Winberry ( Speedvagen Cyclocross Team)

A small roster of 11 women including top Japanese riders Ayako Toyooka and Sakiko Miyauchi lined up against Americans Tina Brubaker, Laura Winberry and Alexandra Burton, under a clear sky. A loud and enthusiastic crowd were on hand to encourage all riders.
On the paved climb just after the start Winberry and Brubaker took the early lead. Miyauchi was close behind in third. Toyooka was had mechanical problems keeping her back for a while.

In the 2nd Toyooka closed the gap to leading Americans the on the long grassy climb then powered away. Miyauchi attacked them as well, moving into second place. Burton was back in 5th place and Chiharuko Yoshida was further back in 6th.

In the last two laps Toyooka used her strength and experience increasing her lead as she powered through the heavy mud section where only the top 4 women were able to stay on their bikes the whole way through. Miyauchi was happy battling to keep the hard working Winberry from catching her.

At the finish line Toyooka was the strongest on the day with newcomer Miyauchi in second place in front of the visiting Winberry.

Next week the riders will assemble again for a second UCI C.2 race on the sandy shores of Lake Biwa, Shiga Japan. (results to come)

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Yu Takenouchi (Jpn)1:02:54
2Masanori Kosaka (Jpn)0:00:32
3Atsushi Maruyama (Jpn)0:01:09
4Hikaru Kosaka (Jpn)0:02:00
5Toki Sawada (Jpn)0:02:39
6Brennan Wodtli (USA)0:03:04
7Michimasa Nakai (Jpn)0:03:46
8Molly Cameron (USA)0:03:51
9Kazuhiro Yamamoto (Jpn)0:03:58
10Kohei Maeda (Jpn)0:04:10
11Makoto Shimada (Jpn)0:04:35
12Shintarou Nakama (Jpn)0:04:46
13Yoshitaka Hama (Jpn)0:05:00
14Shinya Ikemoto (Jpn)0:05:05
15Masayuki Goda (Jpn)0:06:03
16Seigo Yamamoto (Jpn)0:06:09
17Hiroaki Kaneko (Jpn)0:06:29
18Kouji Mukouyama (Jpn)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Takafumi Iizuka (Jpn)Row 18 - Cell 2
20Yudai Izawa (Jpn)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Kazushi Mikami (Jpn)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Masaru Nakazato (Jpn)Row 21 - Cell 2
23Kazuya Sano (Jpn)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Daisuke Yano (Jpn)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Jun Matsuo (Jpn)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Kodai Izawa (Jpn)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Yuichi Sawada (Jpn)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Tatsuki Amagoi (Jpn)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Masashi Matsui (Jpn)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Idomu Yamamoto (Jpn)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Yoshihide Kimura (Jpn)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Yoshinori Suzuki (Jpn)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Shigenori Sugahara (Jpn)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Kazuyoshi Izawa (Jpn)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Shun Matsumoto (Jpn)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Yuhichi Suzuki (Jpn)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Makoto Kawamura (Jpn)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Atsushi Kitajima (Jpn)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Yuya Murayama (Jpn)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Masato Fujikawa (Jpn)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Obuchi Koki (Jpn)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Masanori Kuniyoshi (Jpn)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Syuntarou Yamakawa (Jpn)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Takahiro Ogasawara (Jpn)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Hiroyuki Ando (Jpn)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Kiyoshi Inomata (Jpn)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Takashi Makino (Jpn)Row 46 - Cell 2
48Masashi Matsui (Jpn)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Toyoshige Ikeyama (Jpn)Row 48 - Cell 2
50Masato Samata (Jpn)Row 49 - Cell 2
51Hideki Asai (Jpn)Row 50 - Cell 2
52Jun Furusaki (Jpn)Row 51 - Cell 2
53Katsuhisa Baba (Jpn)Row 52 - Cell 2
54Makoto Yoshida (Jpn)Row 53 - Cell 2
55Susumu Kajita (Jpn)Row 54 - Cell 2
56Yasunori Kashiwazaki (Jpn)Row 55 - Cell 2
57Takuya Kitou (Jpn)Row 56 - Cell 2
58Tsuyoshi Takakura (Jpn)Row 57 - Cell 2
59Kenji Murata (Jpn)Row 58 - Cell 2
60Yusuke Yamagishi (Jpn)Row 59 - Cell 2
61Shunsuke Kato (Jpn)Row 60 - Cell 2
62Kousuke Sakai (Jpn)Row 61 - Cell 2
63Hitoaki Yoshida (Jpn)Row 62 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1