Compton takes commanding win in Providence opener

US cyclo-cross champions Katie Compton (Trek Factory Racing) and Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing) won the opening rounds of the KMC Cyclo-cross Festival held in Providence, Rhode Island, on Saturday.

Powers took the elite men's win ahead of Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld teammates Tim Johnson in second and Lukas Winterberg in third. Compton took a solo victory ahead of Rachel Lloyd (Cal Giant) in second and Helen Wyman (Kona) in third.

After a dry and warm start to the cyclo-cross season in September, the men's and women's fields were treated to the typical rain and sluggish mud that makes cyclo-cross racing so unique. Organizers made significant changes to the course with parts running in the opposite direction, the addition of fly-overs and new technical aspects, as compared to previous years.

In the women's race, the front row included Compton, Wyman, Meredith Miller (Noosa), Caroline Mani (Raleigh Clement), Gabby Durrin (Team Neon Velo), Crystal Anthony (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies), Kaitlin Antonneau (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld) and Arley Kemmerer (PB2 Pro Cycling). They led the field of 64 riders into the start of the first lap.

Kemmerer was the first onto the field and led the long line of riders through the majority of the first lap. Compton muscled her way through the field and opened a gap by the start of the second lap.

As Compton rode over the slippery fly-over, a distance back, Lloyd, Wyman and Courtenay McFadden (GE CapitalAmerican Classic) put forth a chase and instead chose to run up the fly-over.

The second group included Miller, who crashed and had 11 stitches placed in her knee last weekend, Durrin and Antonneau. Mani struggled to keep with the pace and rode several places back.

Compton held a 34-second gap to Wyman and Lloyd, and 38 seconds to McFadden on the last lap. Miller tried to close the gap to the first group of chasers but was sitting an additional 20 seconds back.

In the end it was Compton who crossed the line with a commanding win. The battle for second place ended with Lloyd out-pacing Wyman at the line.

More to come!

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing)1:07:45
2Tim Johnson (Cannondale)0:00:50
3Lukas Winterberg (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.)0:00:57
4Ben Berden (Raleigh / Clement)0:01:05
5Cameron Dodge (PURE ENERGY / SCOTT BICYCLES)0:01:28
6James Driscoll (Raleigh / Clement)0:01:32
7Stephen Hyde (JAM Fund / NCC)0:01:33
8Justin Lindine (Redline Factory / NBX)0:01:34
9Jonathan Page (XcelLED)0:01:48
10Anthony Clark (JAM Fund / NCC)0:01:56
11Shawn Milne (Boulder Cycle Sport/ YogaGlo)0:02:08
12Curtis White (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.)0:02:37
13Troy Wells (Team CLIF BAR)0:03:15
14Zach Mcdonald (KCCX)0:03:23
15Jerome Townsend (Joe's Garage CX p/b
16Michael Garrigan (Van Dessel/ Shimano/ POC)0:03:26
17Jake Wells (Stan's NoTubes Elite CX)0:03:58
18Cody Kaiser (LangeTwins/Specialized)0:04:06
19Tristan Cowie (Mock Orange Bikes Pro CX)0:04:11
20Eric Thompson (Mt. Borah Epic Team)0:04:23
21Tobin Ortenblad (California Giant / Specialized)0:04:27
22Benjamin Sonntag (Team Clif Bar)0:04:28
23Andrew L'esperance (Norco Factory Team)0:04:30
25Austin Vincent ( Devo Team)0:04:56
26Sam Okeefe (C3 - Twenty20 Cycling Co.)0:05:07
27Barry Wicks (Kona)0:05:18
28Joshua Dillon (Joe's Garage p/b
29Alexander Revell (C3-Twenty20 Cycling Co.)0:05:26
30Evan Mcneely (Norco Factory Team)0:05:34
31Allen Krughoff (Noosa Professional Cyclocross T)0:05:36
32Leandre Bouchard (Cyclone d'Alma)0:05:47
33Kerry Werner (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg)0:05:53
34Andrew Juiliano (VOLER/HRS/ROCK LOBSTER)0:06:04
35Adam Myerson (Team SmartStop)0:06:11
36Dylan Mcnicholas (POLARTEC)0:06:24
38Sean Pantellere (STAMPEDE!)0:06:47
39Alex Ryan (Mock Orange Pro CX Team)0:07:17
40Phil Short (Ken's Bike Shop - Hearts RC)0:07:24
41Peter Glassford (Trek Canada)0:07:32
42Thierry Laliberte (Xprezo-Borsao Factory)0:08:39
43Braden Kappius (Team Clif Bar)-1Lap
44Robert Marion (American Classic Pro Cyclocross)-1Lap
45Cody Lacosta (High Gear cyclery/ Trek)-1Lap
46Jean-Philippe Thibault-Roberge (Trek Cyclocross Collective)-1Lap
47Charles Schubert (CUPPOW/Geekhouse/B2C2)-1Lap
48Andrew Loaiza (Thump Cycling p/b Turin)-1Lap
49Greg Whitney (Bicycle Therapy / Melitta)-1Lap
50Scott Smith (JAM Fund / NCC / Family Bike)-1Lap
51Alec Hoover (Table Rock Tours)-3Lap
52Forrest Conrad (UVM Cycling)-3Lap
53Jules Goguely (Rhode Island School of Design)-3Lap
54Jesse Keough (Keough Cyclocross)-3Lap
55Felix Belhumeur (Pivot cycles/ote)-4Lap
56Amos Brumble (CCB racing)-4Lap
57Ian Schon (Cuppow/Geekhouse/B2C2)-4Lap
58Aaron Oakes (NYCROSS p/b Craft)-4Lap
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Katherine Compton (Trek Factory Racing)0:41:18
2Rachel Lloyd (California Giant / Specialized)0:00:33
3Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Racing)0:00:41
4Courtenay Mcfadden (GE Capital/American Classic)0:00:52
5Meredith Miller (Noosa Professional Cyclocross T)0:01:13
6Kaitlin Antonneau (Cannondale pb CyclocrossWorld.c)0:01:16
7Maghalie Rochette (LUNA Pro Team)0:01:39
8Gabby Durrin (Neon Velo Cycling Team)0:01:48
9Crystal Anthony (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg)0:02:00
10Emma White ( Devo Team)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Arley Kemmerer (PB2 Pro Cycling)0:02:17
12Caroline Mani (Raleigh / Clement)0:02:24
13Erica Zaveta (Amy D. Racing)0:02:30
14Cassandra Maximenko (Rare Vos Racing/Van Dessel/Powe)0:02:56
15Mical Dyck (Stan's NoTubes)0:03:06
16Emily Kachorek (Squid)0:03:07
17Maureen Bruno Roy (Bob's Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles)0:03:10
18Beth Ann Orton (Team S&M Sellwood Cycle Repair)0:03:11
19Carolina Gomez (VANDERKITTEN RACING)0:03:28
21Rebecca Fahringer (JAM Fund / NCC)0:03:52
22Nicole Thiemann (Rare Disease Cycling)0:04:07
23Kathryn Cumming (Team Yacht Club)0:04:15
24Jenny Ives (Verge Sport-Test Pilot)0:04:33
25Katherine Shields (Ken's Bike Shop)0:04:36
26Katie Arnold (Stanridge)0:04:38
27Cheryl Sornson (Team Rare Disease Cycling)0:04:43
28Ellen Noble (JAM Fund / NCC)0:04:45
29Stephanie Wetzel (MidAtlantic Colavita Women's Te)0:04:50
30Frances Morrison (C3-Twenty20 Cycling Co.)0:04:52
31Catherine Sterling (
32Stacey Barbossa (MidAtlantic Colavita Women's Te)0:05:00
33Emily Shields (Ken's Bike Shop)0:05:03
34Jessica Duppler (Colonial Bicycle Company)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Lori Cooke (Finkraft)0:05:07
36Roni Vetter (Blue Steel Cyclery)0:05:09
37Rebecca Gross (VANDERKITTEN RACING)0:05:20
38Carolyn Popovic (Engin Cycles p/b Kelpius)0:05:38
39Erin Faccone (GPM Sport)0:05:45
40Melody Chase (Gus cx / Raleigh)0:05:50
41Vickie Monahan (NYCROSS p/b Craft)0:05:51
42Victoria Gates (JAM Fund / NCC)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Bryna Blanchard (North American Velo)0:06:04
44Jennifer Nordhem (Hudson/Flash CX)0:06:17
45Jennifer Nichols0:06:28
46Melissa Seib (BIKEMAN.COM)0:07:09
47Anna Jo Dingman (TRT Bicycles)0:07:16
48Erin Mascelli (SRAM Factory)0:07:51
49Melissa Lafleur (Royal Mills p/b Graphic Innovat)0:07:52
50Emily Reynolds (Ladies First Racing)0:08:15
51Molly Hurford (MidAtlantic Colavita Women’s Te)-1Lap
52Jocelyn Mauldin (NEBC p/b CycleLoft)-1Lap
53Katrina Niez (Class Cycle / Ovens of France)-1Lap
54Heather Heinrich (Wooden Wheels Racing)-1Lap
55Abigail Isolda (NYCROSS p/b Craft)-1Lap
56Kerry Litka (The Velo Resource)-2Lap
57Shane Ferro (CRCA / Rockstar Games / Signatu)-2Lap

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1