Stephens surprises in Presbyterian Crit

A field sprint decided both winners for the Presbyterian Hospital Invitational Criterium. In the women's race Lauren Stephens (FCS Zngine p/b Mr. Restore) out sprinted the favorites to take the win. In the men's race the UnitedHealthcare squad lead out their sprinter Hilton Clarke for the victory.

The 10th annual Presbyterian Hospital Invitational was the third stop of the USA Crits series and held in downtown Charlotte, North Carolina on a 1.1 mile loop. The women would race for 18 laps and the men for 40.

The numerous primes for both cash and points kept the field active throughout the race. The teams of Optum presented by Kelly Benefit and Tibco were constantly at the front of the field keeping the pace high.

Numerous breaks were formed, but none were able to stay away for any length of time. With three laps remaining the peloton was together and a field sprint was going to decide the winner.

A five-hundred dollar prime on the penultimate lap was won by Janel Holcomb (Optum pb Kelly Benefit).

On the final stretch to the finish line the field was spread out from the curb to the fencing that divided the road. Kicking hardest on the left hand side of the road was Lauren Stephens (FCS Zngine p/b Mr. Restore) taking the win. Behind her was Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Team Colavita) in second, and in third Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom).

“This is the biggest victory I ever had,” said a jubilant Stephens, explaining how the last laps were aggressive with riders fighting for a draft.

“I was just bouncing off sprinter's wheels out of that last turn.”

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lauren Stephens (FCS|Zngine p/b Mr. Restore)0:55:09
2Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Fearless Femme p/b Pure Energy)Row 1 - Cell 2
3Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom)Row 2 - Cell 2
4Jade Wilcoxson (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies)Row 3 - Cell 2
5Brianna Walle (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies)Row 4 - Cell 2
6Lauren Tamayo (Exergy TWENTY16)Row 5 - Cell 2
7Christina Gokey-Smith (ROUSE/OOGIE RACING)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Alison Powers (NOW and Novartis for MS)Row 7 - Cell 2
9Jo Kiesanowski (Team Tibco)Row 8 - Cell 2
10Jacquelyn Crowell (Exergy TWENTY16)0:00:01
11Sam Schneider (Team Tibco)Row 10 - Cell 2
12Erica Allar (CARE4Cycling p/b Solomon)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Rushlee Buchanan (Team Tibco)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Alexis Ryan (NOW and Novartis for MS)Row 13 - Cell 2
15Liza Rachetto (Vanderkitten Women's Cycling)Row 14 - Cell 2
16Tina Pic (Team Colavita)Row 15 - Cell 2
17Chantal Blaak (Team Tibco)0:00:02
18Tiffany Pezzulo (Primal Pro Women p/b BH)Row 17 - Cell 2
19Kori Seehafer (Primal Pro Women p/b BH)Row 18 - Cell 2
20Jessica Prinner (CARE4Cycling p/b Solomon)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Starla Teddergreen (Vanderkitten Women's Cycling)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Kimberley Wells (Fearless Femme p/b Pure Energy)0:00:03
23Scotti Wilborne (Mellow Mushroom)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Jennifer Purcell (Team Colavita)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Cari Higgins (Exergy TWENTY16)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Robin Farina (NOW and Novartis for MS)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Maura Kinsella (NOW and Novartis for MS)0:00:04
28Amy McGuire (FCS|Zngine p/b Mr. Restore)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Lindsay Bayer (Team Colavita)0:00:06
30Addy Albershardt (Pasta Zara - Cogeas)0:00:07
31Laura Parsons (Rose Bandits)0:00:09
32Morgan Patton (Team Novo Nordisk)0:00:13
33Andrea Dvorak (Exergy TWENTY16)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Meredith Miller (Team Tibco)0:00:14
35Joelle Numainville (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies)0:00:19
36Anna Sanders (FCS|Zngine p/b Mr. Restore)0:00:20
37Christy Keely (Pepper Palace Cycling Team)0:00:22
38Melina Bernecker (Primal Pro Women p/b BH)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Lauren Rauck Komanski (NOW and Novartis for MS)0:00:23
40Sara Tussey (VeloShine Cycling Team)0:00:26
41Kelly Fisher-Goodwin (Fearless Femme p/b Pure Energy)0:00:29
42Jamie Bookwalter (Team Colavita)0:00:36
43Vanessa Drigo (Rose Bandits)0:00:37
44Joanie Caron (Primal Pro Women p/b BH)0:00:38
45Elizabeth Newell (NOW and Novartis for MS)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Lenore Pipes (CARE4Cycling p/b Solomon)0:01:09
47Mary Zider (Team Colavita)0:01:10
48Cinthia Lehner (Pepper Palace Pro Cycling)0:05:22
49Janel Holcomb (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strateg)0:07:22
50Nicky Wangsgard (Primal Pro Women p/b BH)0:07:40
51Debbie Milne (Cleveland Clinic - Carbon Racing)0:10:18
52Allison Arensman (Pepper Palace Pro Cycling)Row 51 - Cell 2
53Liz Gerrity (Rose Bandits)Row 52 - Cell 2
54Carrie Cash (Pepper Palace Cycling Team)Row 53 - Cell 2
55Hannah Miller (PainPathways Cycling Team)Row 54 - Cell 2
56Marianne Holt (PainPathways Cycling Team)Row 55 - Cell 2
57Kathryn Clark (Pain Pathways Cycling Team)Row 56 - Cell 2
58Shannon Parrish (Team Kenda p/b RACC)Row 57 - Cell 2
59Amanda Schaap (Team Kenda p/b RACC)Row 58 - Cell 2
60Amy Horstmeyer (Team Kenda p/b RACC)Row 59 - Cell 2
61Julie Kuliecza (Pepper Palace Pro Cycling)Row 60 - Cell 2
62Samantha Brode (Cleveland Clinic - Carbon Racinf)Row 61 - Cell 2
63Sheila Orem (Team Kenda p/b RACC)Row 62 - Cell 2
64Stacey Jensen (Team Kenda p/b RACC)Row 63 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews