Skip to main content

Schleck races to win in Sint-Niklaas

Andy Schleck continued to win post-Tour de France criteriums on Friday night, beating Jurgen Van den Broeck and Alexander Vinokourov in the Cibel Na -Tourcriterium Sint – Niklaas, in Belgium.

Schleck soloed to victory on home roads in the Gala Tour de France in Luxembourg on Thursday, where he confirmed he and brother Frank are to leave the Saxo Bank team at the end of the season.

Ivan Basso and Fabian Cancellara also rode the Flemish criterium as part of a 37-rider field that entertained an estimated 60,000 crowd.

After a fast start to the 45-minute race, Cancellara took off with Vinokourov eight laps from the finish. They were joined by Schleck, Van den Broeck and Basso but then Van den Broeck attacked again, taking Schleck and Vino with him.

Schleck, wearing his white Tour de France best young rider jersey, won the sprint ahead of Van den Broeck and Vino. Cancellara won the sprint for fourth, 18 seconds back.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Andy Schleck (Lux) Team Saxo Bank0:45:00
2Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto
3Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Astana
4Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Team Saxo Bank0:00:18
5Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
6Mario Aerts (Bel)0:00:24
7Kevin Seeldraeyers (Bel)
8Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb - Revor
9Steven Van Vooren (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
10Koen Barbé (Bel)
11Gedimas Bagdonas (Lit)
12Michael Van Staeyen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator0:00:44
13Kurt Hovelynck (Bel) Quick Step
14Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
15Jonathan Bertrand (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
16Dominique Cornu (Bel) Skil - Shimano
17Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
18Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Sunweb - Revor
19Christoph De Man (Bel)
20Glenn D’Hollander (Bel)
21Kevin Neirynck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
22Steven De Neef (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht
23Steve Schets (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht
24Bert De Backer (Bel) Skil - Shimano
25Tom Vannoppen (Bel)
26Kenny Van Braeckel (Bel)
27Preben Van Hecke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
28Gunther Sterck (Bel)
29Kristof D’Hollander (Bel)
30Jiri Polnicky (Cze) Sunweb - Revor
31Martin Zlamalik (Cze)
32Geert Steurs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
33Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb - Revor
34Tom Van Den Haute (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
35Sven Blommaert (Bel)
36Kenny Van Garsse (Bel)
37Hendrik Van Den Bossche (Bel) Verandas Willems


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews