Breton hope Halléguen surprises European champion

Mathieu Halléguen from the Breton amateur team Côtes d'Armor-Maître Jacques has claimed his first international win by crossing the line of Paris-Tours five seconds ahead of his breakaway companions. He preceded European champion Kris Boeckmans from Davo-Lotto-Davitamon and his teammate Nicolas David, who is another hope of French cycling hailing from Brittany.

"This is simply the best win of my career," said Halléguen who celebrated his 21st birthday today. He's the son of Jean-Pierre Halléguen who was a very dedicated local rider in the west of France.

Halléguen took part in an 11-men breakaway group with 40 kilometres to go. Boeckmans was the only foreigner there.

"It was an advantage that we were two from the same team with Nicolas," the winner declared. "I like this kind of demanding and windy course where positioning is a key factor. It was very nervous in the final hills but I decided to wait for the last straight road.

"As soon as I attacked I got 150 metres lead. The speed was very high. I was riding at 50km/h but they still caught me. I was particularly afraid of the European champion, but I managed to away again and get another 50 metres lead. With one kilometre to go, I knew I was going to win."

Halléguen will be a pro next year with continental team Bretagne-Schuller. He got the news from team manager Joël Blévin one and half month ago and was able to focus on his final goal, Paris-Tours.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Mathieu Halleguen (Fra) Cote d’Armor Cyclisme4:03:02
2Kris Boeckmans (Bel) Davo - Lotto - Davitamon0:00:05
3Nicolas David (Fra) Cote d’Armor CyclismeRow 2 - Cell 2
4Vincent Dauga (Fra) Entente Sud-GascogneRow 3 - Cell 2
5Mickael Jeannin (Fra) CC Etupes, Doubs, Pays de MontbéliardRow 4 - Cell 2
6Tony Hurel (Fra) Vendée URow 5 - Cell 2
7Yann Moritz (Fra) Vendée URow 6 - Cell 2
8Pierre-Luc Perichon (Fra) SCO Dijon - Team LapierreRow 7 - Cell 2
9Loïc Desriac (Fra) Comité du Midi-Pyrenées0:00:08
10Thomas Welter (Fra) Pedale de l’Est Haguenau0:00:15
11Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Comité de BretagneRow 10 - Cell 2
12Jarl Salomein (Bel) Wielergroep Beveren 2000 - Quickstep0:00:21
13Kevin Reza (Fra) Vendée URow 12 - Cell 2
14Edwig Cammaerts (Bel) Lotto - Bodysol - Pôle Continental Wallon0:00:24
15Jelle Wallays (Bel) Wielergroep Beveren 2000 - Quickstep0:00:31
16Yannick Martinez (Fra) Creusot Cyclisme0:00:46
17Morgan Lamoisson (Fra) CAC 41 BloisRow 16 - Cell 2
18Grégory Joseph (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - BauknechtRow 17 - Cell 2
19Sven Jodts (Bel) Wielergroep Beveren 2000 - QuickstepRow 18 - Cell 2
20Alexandre Geniez (Fra) Velo Club La Pomme-MarseilleRow 19 - Cell 2
21Wouter Wippert (Ned) Davo - Lotto - DavitamonRow 20 - Cell 2
22Jan Ghyselinck (Bel) Wielergroep Beveren 2000 - Quickstep0:00:50
23Sébastien Boire (Fra) CAC 41 BloisRow 22 - Cell 2
24Etienne Pieret (Fra) Vendée U0:01:02
25Korantin Peron (Fra) AC Lanester 560:01:05
26Guillaume Bonnet (Fra) V.C. Lyon Vaulx en Velin0:01:28
27Yannick Ricordel (Fra) UC Nantes AtlantiqueRow 26 - Cell 2
28Thomas Damuseau (Fra) Chambery Cyclisme FormationRow 27 - Cell 2
29Walt Dewinter (Bel) Davo - Lotto - Davitamon0:01:59
30Antoine Gorichon (Fra) Comité Ile De France0:02:05
31Mathieu Desniou (Fra) Comité Indre-et-LoireRow 30 - Cell 2
32Alexis Bodiot (Fra) CC Nogent-sur-Oise0:02:12
33Antoine Fouldrin (Fra) CC Villeneuve ST Germain Soissons0:02:40
34Martial Roman (Fra) Le Cycle Poitevin0:02:44
35Florent Gougeard (Fra) U.S.Ste Austreberthe Pavilly BarentinRow 34 - Cell 2
36Arnaud Molmy (Fra) CC Nogent-sur-OiseRow 35 - Cell 2
37Romain Hardy (Fra) Cote d’Armor CyclismeRow 36 - Cell 2
38Arnaud Courteille (Fra) UC Nantes AtlantiqueRow 37 - Cell 2
39Adrien Goujon (Fra) UC OrleansRow 38 - Cell 2
40Romain Zingle (Bel) Fédération cycliste Wallonie - BruxellesRow 39 - Cell 2
41Romain Lemarchand (Fra) Comité Ile De FranceRow 40 - Cell 2
42Julien Vermote (Bel) Wielergroep Beveren 2000 - QuickstepRow 41 - Cell 2
43Nicolas Edet (Fra) Team Wilo Agem 72Row 42 - Cell 2
44Jonathan Dufrasne (Bel) Fédération cycliste Wallonie - BruxellesRow 43 - Cell 2
45Florent Mallegol (Fra) Cote d’Armor CyclismeRow 44 - Cell 2
46Niels Van Dijck (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - BauknechtRow 45 - Cell 2
47Willem Wauters (Bel) Davo - Lotto - DavitamonRow 46 - Cell 2
48Laurent Le Gac (Fra) Brest Iroise Cyclisme 20000:02:49
49Corentin Maugé (Fra) Team Wilo Agem 720:02:53
50Kévin Francillette (Fra) Vendée U0:02:56
51Ronan Racault (Fra) Comité Indre-et-LoireRow 50 - Cell 2
52Mickael Delage (Fra) Entente Sud-Gascogne0:03:38
53Romain Bacon (Fra) Comité Ile De FranceRow 52 - Cell 2
54Laurent Donnay (Bel) R.C. Pesant C.L.0:04:16
55Laurent Bourgeois (Fra) CC Etupes, Doubs, Pays de Montbéliard0:04:40
56Sander Maasing (Est) CC Etupes, Doubs, Pays de MontbéliardRow 55 - Cell 2
57Alexis Coulon (Fra) SCO Dijon - Team Lapierre0:05:00
58Evaldas Siskevicius (Ltu) Velo Club La Pomme-Marseille0:07:01
59Ben Gastauer (Lux) Chambery Cyclisme FormationRow 58 - Cell 2
60Sven Vandousselaere (Bel) Jong Vlaanderen - Bauknecht0:07:46
61Willy Roseau (Fra) UC Nantes Atlantique0:07:52
62Jérôme Cousin (Fra) Vendée URow 61 - Cell 2
63Nicolas Vaillant (Fra) UC Nantes AtlantiqueRow 62 - Cell 2
64Rémi Badoc (Fra) Entente Sud-Gascogne0:07:55


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews