Markt wins ahead of Gehbauer, Litscher

Tough climbs and daredevil downhills were the perfect ground for the Felt Ötztal X-Bionic World Cup riders at the Ötztaler Mountain Bike Festival on May 1. Charly Markt won the men's race while Sabrina Enaux earned a victory in the women's race.

Markt's dreams came true when he won the UCI-inscripted race held in his hometown, Haiming. After the first lap, Markt took the lead and neither Ralph Näf (Multivan Merida) nor any of the others could follow him up the hill.

Markt won by 53 seconds over Alexander Gehbauer, so he had plenty of time to celebrate and enjoy the applause of fans in the final meters.  Thomas Litscher was third.

"It's awesome. The race was brutal and I'm so happy I finally made it to the top here in my hometown with all my fans cheering on the track," said Markt. "My tactics worked great: I kept the speed very high from the beginning so that nobody could ride into striking distance."

In the women's race, Enaux took her first win of the season. The petite French woman crossed the finish line with over one minute time advantage - and second was nobody other than the world's number one ranked Lisi Osl.

"The course was very technical and perfect," said Enaux. "A full suspension bike helped me ride fast through stones and roots, and the course was full with these technical sections."

Blaza Klemencic, who still is struggling with the aftermath of her painful crash last weekend at the World Cup in South Africa, came in third and was happy with the result.

"To race here was important for me because I don't want to slow down between the World Cups - even if the bruises still hurt a bit," said Klemencic.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Karl Markt (Aut)1:38:10
2Alexander Gehbauer (Aut)0:00:15
3Thomas Litscher (Swi)0:00:23
4Uwe Hochenwarter (Aut)0:00:53
5Martino Fruet (Ita)0:01:46
6Ralph Naef (Swi)0:03:18
7Matous Ulman (Cze)0:03:26
8Catriel Andres Soto (Arg)0:03:51
9Michele Casagrande (Ita)0:04:02
10Nicola Rohrbach (Swi)0:04:08
11Paul Van Der Ploeg (Aus)0:05:12
12Cristian Cominelli (Ita)0:06:03
13Severin Disch (Swi)0:06:50
14Michal Lami (Svk)0:07:52
15Simon Scheiber (Aut)0:08:02
16Ivan Smirnov (Rus)0:08:54
17Matthias Leisling (Ger)0:09:05
18Christopher Maletz (Ger)0:09:27
19Tony Longo (Ita)0:09:32
20Gregor Raggl (Aut)0:10:47
21Matthias Waldhart (Aut)0:11:26
22Paul Remy (Fra)0:11:37
23Michael Hutter (Swi)0:11:53
24Maximilian Holz (Ger)0:12:12
25Dominic Calitz (RSA)0:12:33
26Timofei Ivanov (Rus)0:12:39
27Andi Weinhold (Ger)0:13:48
28Mykhaylo Batsutsa (Ukr)0:14:11
29Matthias Hoi (Aut)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Manfred Zöger (Aut)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Evgeny Nikolaev (Rus)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Markus Preiss (Aut)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Martino Di Pierdomenico (Ita)Row 32 - Cell 2
34Maximilian Knapp (Ita)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Zdenek Vobecky (Cze)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Mikhail Baryshnikov (Rus)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Nejc Cernilogar (Slo)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Simon Seehofer (Aut)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Hermann Pernsteiner (Aut)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Dumeni Vincenz (Swi)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Matthias Grick (Aut)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Martin Haring (Svk)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Florian Kremmaier (Aut)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Gunther Huber (Ita)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Michael Wiessner (Ger)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Christian Moitzi (Aut)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Pawel Wojczal (Pol)Row 46 - Cell 2
48Armin Keibacher (Ita)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Severin Sagesser (Swi)Row 48 - Cell 2
50Rumen Voigt (Ger)Row 49 - Cell 2
51Richard Gantner (Aut)Row 50 - Cell 2
52Anton Liyubuy (Ukr)Row 51 - Cell 2
53Julian Scherer (Aut)Row 52 - Cell 2
54Thomas Forer (Ita)Row 53 - Cell 2
DNFMartin Loo (Est)Row 54 - Cell 2
DNFRobert Gehbauer (Aut)Row 55 - Cell 2
DNFGiuseppe Lamastra (Ita)Row 56 - Cell 2
DNFRafal Hebisz (Pol)Row 57 - Cell 2
DNFDaniel Geismayr (Aut)Row 58 - Cell 2
DNFGiancarlo Sax (Swi)Row 59 - Cell 2
DNFRafal Alchimowiz (Pol)Row 60 - Cell 2
DNFSimon Costa (Aut)Row 61 - Cell 2
DNFDaniel Federspiel (Aut)Row 62 - Cell 2
DNFLukas Hollrigl (Aut)Row 63 - Cell 2
DNFLysander Kiesel (Ger)Row 64 - Cell 2
DNFFrederick Thoni (Aut)Row 65 - Cell 2
DNFMichael (Jr) Schweizer (Ger)Row 66 - Cell 2
DNFMichal Straka (Svk)Row 67 - Cell 2
DNFMarkus Loisl (Aut)Row 68 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sabrina Enaux (Fra)1:21:46
2Elisabeth Osl (Aut)0:01:16
3Blaza Klemencic (Slo)0:07:24
4Yana Belomoyna (Ukr)0:08:53
5Maria Osl (Aut)0:09:45
6Michelle Hediger (Swi)0:10:16
7Lisa Mitterbauer (Aut)0:12:38
8Sabrina Maurer (Swi)0:13:55
9Anna Oberparleiter (Ita)0:14:50
10Michalina Ziolkowska (Pol)0:16:04
11Mailin Franke (Ger)0:19:32
12Marta Tereshchuk (Ukr)Row 11 - Cell 2
13Tanja Starkermann (Swi)Row 12 - Cell 2
14Paulina Hebisz Rydzik (Pol)Row 13 - Cell 2
DNFMarielle Saner-Guinchard (Swi)Row 14 - Cell 2
DNFStephanie Wiedner (Aut)Row 15 - Cell 2
DNFMichaela Malarikova (Svk)Row 16 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1