MacDonald speeds to victory in Dunedin downhill

The second round of the New Zealand Downhill Cup was raced in a damp and soggy, constantly changing Dunedin. Tough conditions have been the order of the two days of practice and competition for the 124 competitors on Signal Hill, with a broad range of weather and race course variables to add to the racing mix.

The contrast with last weekend's series opener in Queenstown couldn't have been any greater. Rain hit Dunedin for the first time in six weeks on Thursday night, creating a very slippery course for the start of practice Friday morning. And constant rain started to fall mid morning, not letting up until the small hours of Saturday morning. Practice was incredibly tough - the technically challenging, often off-chamber Signal Hill course creating an unwanted yardstick for survival.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Brook MacDonald (NZl)0:03:22.26
2Matthew Scoles (NZl)0:00:01.51
3Kieran Bennett (NZl)0:00:03.44
4Wyn Masters (NZl)0:00:04.18
5Sam Baker (NZl)0:00:07.69
6Reuben Olorenshaw (NZl)0:00:07.77
7Jerome Clementz (Fra)0:00:10.71
8Justin Leov (NZl)0:00:12.21
9James Rennie (NZl)0:00:18.02
10Joseph Nation (NZl)0:00:19.38
11Bryn Dickerson (NZl)0:00:20.71
12Hayden Lee (NZl)0:00:23.83
13Rupert Chapman (NZl)0:00:29.61
14Sam Perry (NZl)0:00:31.79
15Thomas Mathews (NZl)0:00:32.64
16Jarrah Davies (Aus)0:00:33.20
17Dan Sims (NZl)0:00:35.44
18Chris Patton (USA)0:00:36.70
19Richard Leacock (NZl)0:00:47.13
20Octavio Teixeira (NZl)0:01:02.45
21Troy Murdoch (NZl)0:01:39.98
22Daniel Heads (NZl)0:10:40.88
DNFGeorge Brannigan (NZl)Row 22 - Cell 2
DNFMatthew Walker (NZl)Row 23 - Cell 2
DNFJared Graves (Aus)Row 24 - Cell 2
DNFUnknown Rooney (NZl)Row 25 - Cell 2
DNSThomas Jeandin (Swi)Row 26 - Cell 2
DNSUnknown Takada (NZl)Row 27 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sarah Atkin (NZl)0:04:36.39
2Alanna Columb (NZl)0:00:41.64
3Amy Liard (NZl)0:00:42.54
4Vironique Sandler (NZl)0:01:06.61
5Harriet Latchem (NZl)0:01:08.19
6Sophiemarie Bethell (NZl)0:01:21.06
Swipe to scroll horizontally
U19 men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Dan McCombie (NZl)0:03:45.17
2Leo Sandler (NZl)0:00:00.35
3Reece Potter (NZl)0:00:00.84
4Tom Burns (NZl)0:00:04.14
5Lewis Hamilton (NZl)0:00:09.09
6Troy Stewart (NZl)0:00:11.57
7Raphael Kammlein-Cutler (NZl)0:00:28.54
8Thomas Gornall (NZl)0:00:32.81
9Connor Harvey (NZl)0:00:33.29
10Alex Kennett (NZl)0:00:42.60
11Zach Baker (NZl)0:00:42.79
12JD Devlin (NZl)0:00:46.80
13Andy Wilson (NZl)0:00:47.50
14Luke Hooper (NZl)0:01:06.10
15Harry Chapman (NZl)0:01:08.23
16Jono Ross (NZl)0:01:21.74
17Kurt Summerfield (NZl)0:02:16.85
DNFLukas Chalmers (NZl)Row 17 - Cell 2
DNSJake Paddon (NZl)Row 18 - Cell 2
DNSDevan Eden (NZl)Row 19 - Cell 2
DNSCallum Sprosen (NZl)Row 20 - Cell 2
DNSBradley Dent (NZl)Row 21 - Cell 2
DNSRobert Havill (NZl)Row 22 - Cell 2
DNSElliot Davison (NZl)Row 23 - Cell 2
DNSJim Lott (NZl)Row 24 - Cell 2
DNSCole Smith (NZl)Row 25 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
U17 Junior men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Josh McCombie (NZl)0:03:48.99
2Carl Goodwin (NZl)0:00:04.73
3Connor Sandri (NZl)0:00:08.34
4Michael Lea (NZl)0:00:17.31
5Gareth Burgess (NZl)0:00:28.61
6DJ Holmes (NZl)0:00:32.88
7Jonathon Kennett (NZl)0:01:37.39
DNSJordan Shadbolt (NZl)Row 7 - Cell 2
DNSJames Minty (NZl)Row 8 - Cell 2
DNSDaniel Prior (NZl)Row 9 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Senior men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Leighton Kirk (NZl)0:03:23.19
2Nick McConachie (NZl)0:00:03.94
3Dylan Sanchez-Pinsent (NZl)0:00:07.63
4James Horran (NZl)0:00:16.32
5Ant Jackson (NZl)0:00:16.57
6Jake Boylett (NZl)0:00:17.54
7Jameie Chapman (NZl)0:00:18.76
8Ben Tyas (NZl)0:00:19.17
9Carl Edmondson (NZl)0:00:20.50
10Mat Prior (NZl)0:00:21.80
11Thomas Lamb (NZl)0:00:22.08
12Tyler Brooker (NZl)0:00:24.65
13Adam McClintock (NZl)0:00:29.32
14Andrew Bias (NZl)0:00:30.92
15Hendrik Schulze (Ger)0:00:33.28
16Cameron Kay (NZl)0:00:34.36
17James Hampton (NZl)0:00:37.48
18Daryl Webb (NZl)0:00:37.90
19Colin Tocher (NZl)0:00:42.37
20Daniel Benn (NZl)0:01:10.38
DNFJake Neaves (NZl)Row 20 - Cell 2
DNSThilo Rucknagel (Ger)Row 21 - Cell 2
DNSScott McGregor (NZl)Row 22 - Cell 2
DNSBen Eggleston (NZl)Row 23 - Cell 2
DNSKarl Shaw (NZl)Row 24 - Cell 2
DNSWilliam Guthrie (NZl)Row 25 - Cell 2
DNSZac Williams (NZl)Row 26 - Cell 2
DNSLiam Jack (NZl)Row 27 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Master 1 men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Derek Winwood (NZl)0:03:32.43
2Jamie Nicoll (NZl)0:00:03.33
3Chris Mancey (NZl)0:00:06.13
4Boyd Grinstead (NZl)0:00:06.86
5Andrew Martin (NZl)0:00:23.03
6Jeremy Jones (NZl)0:00:31.53
7Kevin English (NZl)0:00:48.40
8Marcos Barbosa (NZl)0:01:04.31
9Teruaki Takahashi (Jpn)0:01:15.75
DNFRicky Pincott (NZl)Row 9 - Cell 2
DNSTony Boroviec (NZl)Row 10 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Master 2 men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Christian Meuli (NZl)0:03:47.66
2Michael Williamson (NZl)0:00:07.24
DNSDarryn Henderson (NZl)Row 2 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Hardtail men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Andrew Paisley (NZl)0:04:02.16
2Sam Proctor (NZl)0:00:49.37
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Open women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Adrienne Hooper (NZl)0:04:25.62
2Rosella Pellegrino (Ger)0:00:46.39
3Julie Berry (Aus)0:00:53.31
4Carolin Friese (Ger)0:01:05.22
5Pippa Holdom (NZl)0:01:28.00
DNSKaytee Campbell (NZl)Row 5 - Cell 2
DNSTeresa Blanpain (NZl)Row 6 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Junior women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sophie Tyas (NZl)0:04:41.33
2Phoebe Coers (NZl)0:01:14.10
Swipe to scroll horizontally
U15 Junior men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Carlos Wilson (NZl)0:04:35.17

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews