Yes she can! Cant tops world champ Vos in Lille

Sanne Cant (BKCP-Powerplus) captured her first international win during the fourth round of the Gazet van Antwerpen Trophy on home soil in Lille, Belgium. The Belgian champion distanced world champion Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) and German champion Hanka Kupfernagel on the technical course. Cant also becomes the new leader in the GvA Trophy due to the illness of former leader Sanne van Paassen (Brainwash).

"Did you see my excitement when crossing the line? This is the victory that I've been waiting so long for," Cant said.

Early on Kupfernagel was leading the pack around the lake in the nature park. Only Vos and Cant were able to keep up with the experienced German woman. Halfway through the race Kupfernagel lost ground when changing bikes. "I got blocked by a lapped rider which didn't offer me enough time to speed up and ride up the following climb. Then they were gone," Kupernagel told Cyclingnews.

During the penultimate round Vos got distanced too after changing bikes but the world champion wasn't planning on offering Cant the victory just like that. Halfway through the last lap Vos got back on Cant's wheel. A moment later Vos had to set foot on the ground on a technical section in the forest with tight corners. Cant had a gap then Vos disappeared from the picture when her tubular went off the rim. The Dutch woman then switched her focus from winning the race to staying ahead of Kupfernagel.

"We were both riding on the limit and that bike switch offered her a couple of metres. Could I have won without the tyre problems? Sanne had a sizeable gap on me already, so it would've been very hard to come back on her," Vos said.

For Cant it was a big advantage to avoid the sprint with her Dutch rival. "I think that in the sprint I have no chance against Vos. She's probably still faster when she's running," Cant said. It didn't come down to a sprint though and Cant cruised to a much-deserved win.

Vos kept riding on the rim in the forest but eventually was forced to run the last hundred metres towards the finish line while Kupfernagel was coming back quickly. "In the forest it was possible to ride but on the asphalt that didn't work out well. I saw Hanka coming back while the finish was still so far away," Vos said.

Eventually Kupfernagel was kind enough to slow down and offer Vos second place. "That was a nice gesture from her," Vos said. Kupfernagel explained that Vos deserved that second place but that she wouldn't do the same at the world championships. "Neither would I," Vos reacted.

Helen Wyman (Kona) won a tight sprint for fourth place from Dutch rider Sabrina Stultiens. "Did I win it? Then it's good," a coughing Wyman said. The British champion moves into second place overall in the rankings with only one round left.

Nikki Harris captured her best GvA result of the season with a sixth place at two minutes from winner Cant. She is now sixth overall.

A few minutes later Dutch champion Daphny van den Brand ( crossed the line in her comeback race after several weeks of illness. She finished tenth at almost four minutes from Cant. "The result didn't matter. I knew that I wouldn't be riding for the victory but figured I could do damage control in the overall rankings by racing here," Van den Brand told Cyclingnews. The Dutch champion succeeded in her goal as she remains in third overall.

On February 20 the last round of the GvA Trophy is held in Oostmalle, Belgium.

Full results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:38:01
2Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit0:00:43
3Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) StevensRow 2 - Cell 2
4Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona0:01:28
5Sabrina Stultiens (Ned)Row 4 - Cell 2
6Nikki Harris (GBr)0:02:02
7Pavla Havlikova (Cze)0:02:42
8Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)0:03:08
9Arenda Grimberg (Ned)0:03:30
10Daphny van den Brand (Ned)
11Reza Hormes (Ned)0:03:53
12Nicole De Bie - Leyten (Bel)0:04:09
13Tessa Van Nieuwpoort (Ned)0:04:13
14Nancy Bober (Bel)0:04:26
15Sophie De Boer (Ned)0:04:37
16Ellen Van Loy (Bel)0:04:45
17Karen Verhestraeten (Bel)0:05:08
18Hilde Quintens (Bel)0:05:21
19Nathalie Nijns (Bel)0:05:31
20Anja Geldhof (Bel)0:05:42
21Katrien Aerts (Bel)0:05:51
22Lana Verberne (Ned)0:06:16
23Christine Vardaros (USA) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team0:06:45
24 -1 lapAnja Nobus (Bel)Row 23 - Cell 2
25Kristien Nelen (Bel)Row 24 - Cell 2
26Katrien Thijs (Bel)Row 25 - Cell 2
27 -2 lapsKatrien Vermeiren (Bel)Row 26 - Cell 2
28Liisi Rist (Est)Row 27 - Cell 2
29Britt Jochems (Bel)Row 28 - Cell 2
30Caren Commissaris (Bel)Row 29 - Cell 2
31Liga Smite (Lat)Row 30 - Cell 2
32Jaanice Geyskens (Bel)Row 31 - Cell 2
33Valerie Boonen (Bel)Row 32 - Cell 2
34 -3 lapsGreete Steinburg (Est)Row 33 - Cell 2
35Madara Furmane (Lat)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Caitlyn La Haye (Bel)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Marijke De Pauw (Bel)Row 36 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
GvA Trofee - Women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResultHeader Cell - Column 3
1Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus83pts
2Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona72Row 1 - Cell 3
3Daphny van den Brand (Ned) 2 - Cell 3
4Sanne van Paassen (Ned) BrainWash60Row 3 - Cell 3
5Pavla Havlikova (Cze)56Row 4 - Cell 3
6Nikki Harris (GBr)53Row 5 - Cell 3
7Sophie De Boer (Ned)48Row 6 - Cell 3
8Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit47Row 7 - Cell 3
9Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) ZZPR.NL46Row 8 - Cell 3
10Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger)41Row 9 - Cell 3
11Arenda Grimberg (Ned)39Row 10 - Cell 3
12Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)Row 11 - Cell 2 Row 11 - Cell 3
13Nancy Bober (Bel)32pts
14Sabrina Stultiens (Ned)29Row 13 - Cell 3
15Linda Van Rijen (Ned)20Row 14 - Cell 3
16Gabriella Day (GBr) The ChainStay-RENNERRow 15 - Cell 2 Row 15 - Cell 3
17Ellen Van Loy (Bel)19pts
18Nicole De Bie - Leyten (Bel)14Row 17 - Cell 3
19Christine Vardaros (USA) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team13Row 18 - Cell 3
20Tessa Van Nieuwpoort (Ned)12Row 19 - Cell 3
21Susan Butler (USA) Hudz-Subaru10Row 20 - Cell 3
22Martina Zwick (Ger)9Row 21 - Cell 3
23Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles8Row 22 - Cell 3
24Jasmin Achermann (Swi) Fischer-BMC7Row 23 - Cell 3
25Helena Van Leijen (Ned)5Row 24 - Cell 3
26Martina Mikulaskova (Cze)Row 25 - Cell 2 Row 25 - Cell 3
27Nathalie Nijns (Bel) Benelux TeamRow 26 - Cell 2 Row 26 - Cell 3
29Karen Verhestraeten (Bel)4pts
31Katrien Thijs (Bel) Edegem Bicycle Club V.Z.W.3Row 28 - Cell 3
32Hilde Quintens (Bel)Row 29 - Cell 2 Row 29 - Cell 3
32Ilona Meter (Ned) WV Eemland2pts
33Anja Geldhof (Bel)Row 31 - Cell 2 Row 31 - Cell 3
33Nikoline Hansen (Den)1Row 32 - Cell 3


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1