Gilbert wins GP Cerami

Philippe Gilbert celebrates his first win of 2015.

Philippe Gilbert celebrates his first win of 2015. (Image credit: Tim de Waele/

Philippe Gilbert (BMC) returned to his winning ways after being out of competition with a fractured leg, taking out the sprint in the Grand Prix Cerami in Belgium. It was his first race back after abandoning the Tour de Suisse in June, and he said he felt no pain during the race.

"More important than the win was that my feeling was good on the bike and that was the biggest news of the day for me," Gilbert said. "I didn't have pain the last week in training. But training is always different than a race. So for me, this is very good news for the next month."

Gilbert was part of a large group that broke off from the remainder of the peloton early in the 211km race. He beat out Danny Van Poppel (Trek) and Tom Devrient (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) in the sprint.

Gilbert was proud to win the first edition of the race named after Giuseppe "Pino" Cerami since the Belgian died at age 92 in September.

"Pino was one of the first big stars of Wallonie, so I am very proud to have my name on the list of the winners of this race," Gilbert said.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team4:44:03
2Danny Van Poppel (Ned) Trek Factory RacingRow 1 - Cell 2
3Tom De Vriendt (Bel) Wanty - Groupe GobertRow 2 - Cell 2
4Tom Boonen (Bel) Etixx - Quick-StepRow 3 - Cell 2
5Sébastien Turgot (Fra) AG2R La MondialeRow 4 - Cell 2
6Christopher Lawless (GBr) Team WigginsRow 5 - Cell 2
7Antoine Demoitie (Bel) Wallonie - BruxellesRow 6 - Cell 2
8Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-PowerplusRow 7 - Cell 2
9Laurent Pichon (Fra) FDJ.frRow 8 - Cell 2
10Jeroen Meijers (Ned) Rabobank Development TeamRow 9 - Cell 2
11Victor Campenaerts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - BaloiseRow 10 - Cell 2
12Jeremy Leveau (Fra) Roubaix Lille MetropoleRow 11 - Cell 2
13Nikolas Maes (Bel) Etixx - Quick-Step0:00:06
14Edwig Cammaerts (Bel) Veranclassic - EkoiRow 13 - Cell 2
15Hartthijs De Vries (Ned) Rabobank Development TeamRow 14 - Cell 2
16Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Team LottoNL-JumboRow 15 - Cell 2
17Cees Bol (Ned) Rabobank Development TeamRow 16 - Cell 2
18Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Continental Team0:00:09
19Maxime Daniel (Fra) AG2R La MondialeRow 18 - Cell 2
20Julien Berard (Fra) AG2R La MondialeRow 19 - Cell 2
21Jens Wallays (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:00:13
22Sébastien Delfosse (Bel) Wallonie - BruxellesRow 21 - Cell 2
23Pieter Serry (Bel) Etixx - Quick-Step0:00:17
24Jelle Wallays (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:00:22
25Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) BKCP-PowerplusRow 24 - Cell 2
26Kris Boeckmans (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:00:24
27Gregory Habeaux (Bel) Wallonie - BruxellesRow 26 - Cell 2
28Dylan Teuns (Bel) BMC Racing TeamRow 27 - Cell 2
29Loic Vliegen (Bel) BMC Racing TeamRow 28 - Cell 2
30Huub Duijn (Ned) Team RoompotRow 29 - Cell 2
31Timo Roosen (Ned) Team LottoNL-JumboRow 30 - Cell 2
32Maarten Wynants (Bel) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:00:32
33Yannick Eijssen (Bel) Wanty - Groupe GobertRow 32 - Cell 2
34Kevin Ledanois (Fra) Bretagne-Séché Environnement0:00:34
35Mike Teunissen (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:00:43
36Arnaud Courteille (Fra) FDJ.fr0:00:51
37Dennis Vanendert (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:01:15
38Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:01:33
39Sean De Bie (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:04:13
40Joren Touquet (Bel) Verandas Willems Cycling Team0:05:14
41Oliver Naesen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:05:29
42Eugenio Alafaci (Ita) Trek Factory Racing0:05:31
43Wesley Kreder (Ned) Team Roompot0:05:33
44Pim Ligthart (Ned) Lotto Soudal0:05:35
45Maarten Tjallingii (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo0:05:37
46Martin Palm (Bel) Color Code - Aquality ProtectRow 45 - Cell 2
47Marcus Burghardt (Ger) BMC Racing Team0:05:39
48Thomas Sprengers (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Baloise0:09:52
49Pierre-Henri Lecuisinier (Fra) FDJ.frRow 48 - Cell 2
50Niki Terpstra (Ned) Etixx - Quick-StepRow 49 - Cell 2
51Boris Vallee (Bel) Lotto SoudalRow 50 - Cell 2
52Gediminas Bagdonas (Ltu) AG2R La MondialeRow 51 - Cell 2
53Jimmy Duquennoy (Bel) Color Code - Aquality ProtectRow 52 - Cell 2
54Brian Van Goethem (Ned) Team RoompotRow 53 - Cell 2
55Stig Broeckx (Bel) Lotto SoudalRow 54 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews