Vos victorious in Leuven

World champion Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) won her last race of the year in style. The Dutch woman once again had a huge margin over the first chasers at the last of the Fidea Classics in Leuven, Belgium. European champion Daphny van den Brand (AA Drink-Leontien.nl) was best of the rest at 2:05 behind the winner. Sophie de Boer (Telenet-Fidea) completed the clean sweep for the Dutch women in Leuven.

"It wasn't super exciting for the spectators but I certainly enjoyed it," Vos told tv-channel VT4 after her ninth win of the season.

During the first lap only Van den Brand seemed to be able to offer Vos some opposition. She followed the world champion at a few meters but began to lose ground. In the technical sections Vos got stuck twice and Van den Brand profited to move up and over her compatriot. Shortly after her mishap Vos set things straight by powering back into the lead. From there Van den Brand settled for second place.

The battle for third place offered the most excitement in the second half of the race. Early on four riders trailed the duo in front: De Boer, Pavla Havlikova (Telenet-Fidea), Belgian champion Sanne Cant (Boxx-Veldritacademie) and in-form Gabriella Day (Renner-Raleigh). The two Telenet-Fidea women left the two other women behind and together they tried to make up ground on Van den Brand. They came close and in the last part of the course De Boer went in search of Van den Brand on her own but she fell just five seconds short of catching the AA Drink-Leontien.nl rider. Havlikova, Cant and Day completed the top-6 in Leuven.

On Sunday the women all head to Baal, Belgium for the next round of the Gazet van Antwerpen Trophy where co-leaders Van den Brand and Nikki Harris (Telenet-Fidea), both with 55 points, will vie for series supremacy.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Full Results
1Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit0:34:35
2Daphny van den Brand (Ned) AA Drink - Leontien.nl0:02:05
3Sophie de Boer (Ned) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:02:10
4Pavla Havlikova (Cze) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:02:22
5Sanne Cant (Bel) BOXX Veldritacademie0:03:20
6Gabriella Day (GBr) Renner Custom Cyclocross Team0:03:33
7Arenda Grimberg (Ned)0:04:16
8Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Kriekel Cycling Team Tessenderlo0:05:17
9Anne Arnouts (Bel)0:05:26
10Hilde Quintens (Bel) Van Goethem - Prorace Cycling Team0:06:00
11Julie Krasniak (Fra) Team Rapha Focus0:06:16
12Christine Vardaros (USA) Baboco0:06:44
13Kim Van De Steene (Bel) Afdeling Oost-Vlaanderen WBV - VZW0:06:58
14Iris Ockeloen (Ned) RTC Groenewoud0:07:07
15Katrien Thijs (Bel) K. Edegem Bicycle Club - BMX R0:07:26
16Githa Michiels (Bel)0:07:54
17Nicole De Bie-Leyten (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team0:07:57
18Margriet Kloppenburg (Den)0:09:00
19Monique Van De Ree (Ned)-1lap
20Anja Nobus (Bel)Row 19 - Cell 2
21Suzie Godart (Lux)Row 20 - Cell 2
22Caren Commissaris (Bel) W.A.C. Team Hoboken (Kon.) V.Z.W.Row 21 - Cell 2
23Madara Furmane (Lat)Row 22 - Cell 2
24Janice Geyskens (Bel) Kempens Wielerverbond- Turnhout V.Z.W.Row 23 - Cell 2
25Katleen Fraeye (Bel) Feestcomiteit Drogenboom-2laps
26Keshia Verbeeck (Bel) Cycling Team 99 V.Z.W. SchriekRow 25 - Cell 2
27Caitlyn La Haye (Bel) Hageland Cycling TeamRow 26 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1