Flückiger wins Under 23 race for Switzerland

The under 23 men got their turn to race on Thursday after the under 23 women. The start was fast and furious. It was as if Mathias Flückiger was on a mission for Swizterland. He set a blazing pace that ripped the race apart, and it soon became clear that the race was for second place.

After watching Switzerland's Kathrin Stirnemann not quite hold on to her lead until the end of the under 23 women's race, the Swiss fans were nervous to see Flückiger puncture twice. However, he calmly replaced his wheel, still in the lead given the large margin he had built up prior to the flat.

Niels Wubben (Netherlands) and Martin Fanger (Switzerland) engaged in a head-to-head battle for second place. Both were racing hard, but an untimely puncture in the last lap caused Fanger to drop to seventh.

Keeping cool in the heat of the battle, Niels would power on to a well-earned second place.

The Swiss continued their overall domination of the European Championships in a classy fashion as Patrick Gallati came through to take third.

The Swiss team has looked strong throughout the 2010 Championships and is a favorite for tomorrow's elite races with Christoph Sauser and Ralph Naef on the start line. However, Spain's Jose Hermida may be just the man to spoil the Swiss party; he'll be racing in conditions he is used to at home in Spain.

Record crowds are expected to cheer on the favorites on Friday in Haifa.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathias Flückiger (Switzerland)1:52:01
2Niels Wubben (Netherlands)0:02:28
3Patrick Gallati (Switzerland)0:03:19
4Sebastien Carabin (Belgium)0:04:06
5Olof Jonsson (Sweden)0:04:17
6Henk Jaap Moorlag (Netherlands)0:05:07
7Martin Fanger (Switzerland)0:05:13
8Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Italy)0:05:21
9Simon Scheiber (Austria)0:05:37
10Mattias Rupp (Switzerland)0:05:40
11Marek Konwa (Poland)0:05:52
12Tiago Ferreira (Portugal)0:06:09
13Jury Ragnoli (Italy)0:06:25
14Ondrej Cink (Czech Republic)0:06:44
15Markus Bauer (Germany)0:07:06
16Alexander Gehbauer (Austria)0:08:00
17Dries Govaerts (Belgium)0:08:21
18Marco Minnaard (Netherlands)0:08:46
19Robby De Bock (Belgium)0:09:23
20Piotr Brzozka (Poland)0:09:33
21Cristian Cominelli (Italy)0:09:45
22Shlomi Haimy (Israel)0:10:13
23Sergey Nikolaev (Russian Federation)0:10:23
24Jeremy Hugenin (Switzerland)0:10:31
25Dmytro Titarenko (Ukraine)0:12:49
26Zsolt Juhasz (Hungary)0:14:58
-1lapIdan Shapira (Israel)Row 26 - Cell 2
-1lapMartin Loo (Estonia)Row 27 - Cell 2
-1lapEliad Daniel (Israel)Row 28 - Cell 2
-1lapRuben Scheire (Belgium)Row 29 - Cell 2
-1lapIvan Smirnov (Russian Federation)Row 30 - Cell 2
-2lapsDavid Rodrigues (Portugal)Row 31 - Cell 2
-2lapsThomas Litscher (Switzerland)Row 32 - Cell 2
-2lapsJose Maria Sanchez Ruiz (Spain)Row 33 - Cell 2
-2lapsMichalis Kitis (Cyprus)Row 34 - Cell 2
-3lapsTimofey Ivanov (Russian Federation)Row 35 - Cell 2
-3lapsOleksandr Kachanov (Ukraine)Row 36 - Cell 2
-3lapsAmotz Nehoray (Israel)Row 37 - Cell 2
-3lapsBenjamin Schmidt (Israel)Row 38 - Cell 2
DNFPascal Meyer (Switzerland)Row 39 - Cell 2
DNFFabian Strecker (Germany)Row 40 - Cell 2
DNFMykhaylo Batsutsa (Ukraine)Row 41 - Cell 2
DNFDavid Lozano Riba (Spain)Row 42 - Cell 2
DNFVasilis Adamou (Cyprus)Row 43 - Cell 2
DNFJelmer Jubbega (Netherlands)Row 44 - Cell 2
DNFKenneth Hansen (Denmark)Row 45 - Cell 2
DNFRicardo Marinheiro (Portugal)Row 46 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1