Gilbert wins De Brabantse Pijl

Philippe Gilbert (Omega-Pharma Lotto) won Brabantse Pijl in a two-man sprint for the line against Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil-DCM).

The two Belgians broke clear of a break containing on the final lap along the finishing circuit, dropping Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil-DCM), Bram Tankink (Rabobank), Romain Zingle (Cofidis), Dries Devenyns (Quick-Step) and former winner Anthony Geslin (FDJ) and stayed away until the finish, where on the long uphill drag up to the line Gilbert showed his class and his Ardennes form with a powerful sprint.

No early breakaway

While last year's winner Sébastien Rosseler (Radioshack) didn't start, the runner-up from 2010, Thomas De Gendt, showed he wasn't planning to use this day as a training ride. De Gendt attacked right after leaving the historical market when the flag went down. The Belgian, who performed excellently in this year's Paris-Nice, didn't make any distance though. For an hour a group with Kenny De Haes (Omega Pharma-Lotto), Julien El Fares (Cofidis), Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil-DCM), Thomas Bonnin (Skil-Shimano) and Andrea Pasqualon (Colnago-CSF Inox) made a gap of three minutes but eventually they were brought back by the Rabobank team.

Vacansoleil-DCM starts the finale

On the Ijskelderlaan – the tenth climb of the day - Vacansoleil-DCM closed the final metres on the leaders and on the steep Schavel with 65km to go Johnny Hoogerland attacked. Right after the first passage of the finish line, while climbing the Hagaard, five men closed the gap to Hoogerland: Bram Tankink (Rabobank), Romain Zingle (Cofidis), Dries Devenyns (Quick-Step), Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil-DCM) and former winner Anthony Geslin (FDJ). Vacansoleil and the Quick-Step team put the hand brake on the peloton and the gap to the six quickly ran up to twenty seconds.

At the bottom of the next climb, the cobbled Hertstraat, Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) powered away from the peloton. After the first part on the cobbles he hopped on the pavement and continued his effort. Gilbert closed the gap to the leaders in no time. With another team present in front of the peloton it was clear the breakaway had every chance of going the distance. On the second lap of the finishing circuit they had 50 seconds on the peloton and one lap later the gap was up to 1:15.

The peloton got restless during the third of five laps and eventually a counter-attack from Jerome Pineau (Quick-Step) and Gianni Meersman (FDJ) got away. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) fell short in his effort to join the duo and from that moment on it was over for the peloton.

Leukemans and Gilbert attack the lead group

When starting the final lap the chasing duo were trailing the seven leaders by 1:11. But just before hitting the final lap Leukemans attacked the lead group and the Belgian was joined by compatriot Gilbert. Behind them Zingle was blown away and the four others were left chasing the two strongest men in the race.

The two Belgians survived until the line with Gilbert taking his first win on home soil since last July.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto4:40:38
2Björn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling TeamRow 1 - Cell 2
3Anthony Geslin (Fra) FDJ0:01:03
4Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling TeamRow 3 - Cell 2
5Bram Tankink (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team0:01:04
6Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quickstep Cycling Team0:01:18
7Romain Zingle (Bel) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne0:01:23
8Gianni Meersman (Bel) FDJ0:01:39
9Jérôme Pineau (Fra) Quickstep Cycling Team0:01:41
10Simon Geschke (Ger) Skil - Shimano0:02:19
11Oscar Freire Gomez (Spa) Rabobank Cycling TeamRow 10 - Cell 2
12Ben Hermans (Bel) Team RadioShackRow 11 - Cell 2
13Bert De Waele (Bel) LandbouwkredietRow 12 - Cell 2
14Paul Martens (Ger) Rabobank Cycling TeamRow 13 - Cell 2
15Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing TeamRow 14 - Cell 2
16Kristof Vandewalle (Bel) Quickstep Cycling TeamRow 15 - Cell 2
17Wesley Sulzberger (Aus) FDJRow 16 - Cell 2
18Carlos Barredo Llamazales (Spa) Rabobank Cycling TeamRow 17 - Cell 2
19Jan Ghyselinck (Bel) HTC-HighroadRow 18 - Cell 2
20Johan Coenen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - MercatorRow 19 - Cell 2
21Maxime Vantomme (Bel) Katusha TeamRow 20 - Cell 2
22Davy Commeyne (Bel) LandbouwkredietRow 21 - Cell 2
23Frantisek Rabon (Cze) HTC-HighroadRow 22 - Cell 2
24Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) Team Garmin-CerveloRow 23 - Cell 2
25Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra) FDJRow 24 - Cell 2
26Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Omega Pharma-LottoRow 25 - Cell 2
27Michel Kreder (Ned) Team Garmin-CerveloRow 26 - Cell 2
28Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling TeamRow 27 - Cell 2
29Peter Stetina (USA) Team Garmin-CerveloRow 28 - Cell 2
30Sander Armee (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - MercatorRow 29 - Cell 2
31Craig Lewis (USA) HTC-HighroadRow 30 - Cell 2
32Jesus Rosendo Prado (Spa) Andalucia Caja GranadaRow 31 - Cell 2
33Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri SottoliRow 32 - Cell 2
34Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Skil - ShimanoRow 33 - Cell 2
35Luis Leon Sanchez Gil (Spa) Rabobank Cycling TeamRow 34 - Cell 2
36Julien Vermote (Bel) Quickstep Cycling TeamRow 35 - Cell 2
37Stijn Devolder (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling TeamRow 36 - Cell 2
38Alessandro Donati (Ita) Acqua & SaponeRow 37 - Cell 2
39Philip Deignan (Irl) Team RadioShackRow 38 - Cell 2
40Francesco Failli (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri SottoliRow 39 - Cell 2
41Julien El Fares (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En LigneRow 40 - Cell 2
42Matthieu Sprick (Fra) Skil - ShimanoRow 41 - Cell 2
43Geert Verheyen (Bel) LandbouwkredietRow 42 - Cell 2
44Wout Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling TeamRow 43 - Cell 2
45Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - MercatorRow 44 - Cell 2
46Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling TeamRow 45 - Cell 2
47Sébastien Delfosse (Bel) LandbouwkredietRow 46 - Cell 2
48Martin Kohler (Swi) BMC Racing Team0:02:36
49Pablo Lechuga Rodriguez (Spa) Andalucia Caja GranadaRow 48 - Cell 2
50Nico Sijmens (Bel) Cofidis, Le Credit En LigneRow 49 - Cell 2
51Gert Dockx (Bel) Omega Pharma-LottoRow 50 - Cell 2
52Pieter Serry (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - MercatorRow 51 - Cell 2
53Gabriel Rasch (Nor) Team Garmin-CerveloRow 52 - Cell 2
54Christophe Kern (Fra) Team Europcar0:02:44
55Pieter Jacobs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - MercatorRow 54 - Cell 2
56Thomas Degand (Bel) Veranda's Willems - AccentRow 55 - Cell 2
57Ryan Anderson (Can) Team Spidertech Powered By C100:02:52
58Jose Vicente Toribio Alcolea (Spa) Andalucia Caja GranadaRow 57 - Cell 2
59Bert Scheirlinckx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet0:03:00
60Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto0:03:02
61Francis Mourey (Fra) FDJ0:03:23
62Murilo Antonio Fischer (Bra) Team Garmin-Cervelo0:03:31
63Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli0:03:42
64Jürgen Van Goolen (Bel) Veranda's Willems - AccentRow 63 - Cell 2
65Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team0:04:09
66Sébastien Turgot (Fra) Team Europcar0:04:42
67Ronan McLaughlin (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly0:06:08
68Francesco Di Paolo (Ita) Acqua & Sapone0:06:09

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1