Skip to main content

Brutt claims solo Vendée victory

Russia's Pavel Brutt soloed the final ten kilometres of the Tour de Vendée to earn his first victory of the 2009 season. "I won't slow down until the end of the Tour of Lombardy", Brutt said, still eager to race at the end of a lengthy road season.

Brutt, along with teammates Alexandre Botcharov and Sergeï Ivanov, was part of a 16-man breakaway that decided the 38th Tour de Vendée. Katusha and Agritubel had strength in numbers with three riders each in the decisive move, but Agritubel's Brice Feillu, Nicolas Jalabert and Nicolas Vogondy proved to be no match for the Russian ProTour team. Local hero Thomas Voeckler (BBox Bouygues Telecom) was also unable to counter Katusha's tactics with only the lone trainee Jérôme Cousin at his side.

"We decided we should make the front group explode in the last ten kilometres", said Brutt who attacked first and was fantastically protected by Ivanov. The teamwork by Ivanov was payback for all the work done by the rider from St. Petersburg for the Russian champion when Ivanov won the Amstel Gold Race earlier this year.

At Katusha, Brutt is highly regarded as a team player and has grown as a rider with the Russian ProTour squad. Brutt was a member of the Continental team Tinkoff when he placed third at the 2006 Tour de Bretagne. Once Tinkoff became a Pro Continental team, he delivered the first win for the team as he claimed stage nine of the 2007 Le Tour de Langkawi in Seremban. In 2008 Brutt earned the most prestigious victory of his career thus far, stage five of the Giro d'Italia in Contursi Terme.

"I'm still in a learning process of my career", said the 27-year-old. "I learn a lot from Ivanov and I must say that cycling is much easier with him." The Russian champion is still frustrated from the world championship where he sought the rainbow jersey. The masterpiece of the Katusha team in Vendée indicates that Andreï Tchmil's squad remains focused and competitive for the final two weeks of the 2009 season.

The Tour de Vendée was the last leg of the French Cup but series leader Jimmy Casper (Besson Chaussures - Sojasun) had an insurmountable lead and didn't take part. Casper instead chose to ride the Circuit Franco-Belge in preparation for Sunday's Paris-Tours. With Mathieu Ladagnous finishing second behind Brutt in the group that also included Finnish teammate Jussi Veikkanen, Française des Jeux secured the French Cup team title over outgoing Agritubel.

1Pavel Brutt (Rus) Team Katusha4:38:40
2Mathieu Ladagnous (Fra) Française Des Jeux0:00:10
3Thomas Voeckler (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom
4Florian Vachon (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
5Lilian Jegou (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
6Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) Agritubel
7Steven Van Vooren (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
8Martin Elmiger (Swi) AG2R La Mondiale
9Julien Fouchard (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit en Ligne
10Alexandre Botcharov (Ltu) Team Katusha
11Jérémy Galland (Fra) Besson Chaussures - Sojasun
12Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Agritubel
13Brice Feillu (Fra) Agritubel0:00:14
14Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) Française Des Jeux0:00:15
15Sergueï Ivanov (Rus) Team Katusha0:00:17
16Koldo Fernandez de Larrea (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi0:00:21
17Romain Feillu (Fra) Agritubel
18Anthony Geslin (Fra) Française Des Jeux
19Nicolay Trussov (Rus) Team Katusha
20Steven Tronet (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
21Julien Simon (Fra) Besson Chaussures - Sojasun
22Niels Brouzes (Fra) Auber 93
23Jean Eudes Demaret (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit en Ligne
24Stéphane Bonsergent (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
25Anthony Ravard (Fra) Agritubel
26Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Besson Chaussures - Sojasun
27Erki Putsep (Est) Cycling Club Bourgas
28Jean-Luc Delpech (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
29Tony Gallopin (Fra) Auber 93
30Yury Krivtsov (Ukr) AG2R La Mondiale
31Sébastien Harbonnier (Fra) Continental Team Differdange
32Gennadi Mikhaïlov (Rus) Team Katusha
33Mathieu Claude (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom
34Maryan Hary (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit en Ligne
35Lazlo Bodrogi (Fra) Team Katusha
36Arnaud Courteille (Fra) Française Des Jeux
37Rémy Di Grégorio (Fra) Française Des Jeux0:00:29
38Benoît Sinner (Fra) Besson Chaussures - Sojasun
39Morten Knudsen (Den) Continental Team Differdange
40Perrig Quemeneur (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom
41Julien Loubet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale0:00:30
42Blaise Sonnery (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
43Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) BBox Bouygues Telecom0:00:32
44William Bonnet (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom0:00:36
45Anthony Roux (Fra) Française Des Jeux
46Florian Guillou (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
47Gael Malacarne (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller0:00:39
48Tristan Valentin (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit en Ligne
49Sébastien Duret (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
50Florian Morizot (Fra) Besson Chaussures - Sojasun0:00:43
51Stephane Goubert (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
52Jef Peeters (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
53Ludovic Turpin (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
54David Lelay (Fra) Agritubel
55Cyril Dessel (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
56Julien Mazet (Fra) Auber 93
57Mickael Larpe (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
58Franck Bouyer (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom
59Jean-Marc Marino (Fra) Besson Chaussures - Sojasun
60Dimitri Champion (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller0:00:48
61Mikael Chérel (Fra) Française Des Jeux0:00:57
62Jérôme Cousin (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom
63Geoffroy Lequatre (Fra) Agritubel0:01:01
64Jérémy Roy (Fra) Française Des Jeux
65Cyril Bessy (Fra) Besson Chaussures - Sojasun0:01:08
66Damien Gaudin (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom0:01:09
67Yann Pivois (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller0:01:15
68Maxime Mederel (Fra) Auber 930:01:17
69Jonathan Thire (Fra) Auber 93
70Johan Mombaerts (Fra) Auber 93
71Aitor Galdos Alonso (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi0:01:22
72Freddy Bichot (Fra) Agritubel0:01:28
73Hakan Nilsson (Swe) Continental Team Differdange0:01:29
74Nicolas Roche (Irl) AG2R La Mondiale0:01:50
75Ivan Velasco Murillo (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi0:02:01
76Inaki Isasi Flores (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi
77Yohan Cauquil (Fra) Cycling Club Bourgas0:02:08
78Janek Tombak (Est) Cycling Club Bourgas
DNFFabien Bacquet (Fra) Auber 93
DNFNadir Haddou (Fra) Auber 93
DNFNicolas Jouanno (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
DNFMart Ojavee (Est) Cycling Club Bourgas
DNFHristomir Angelov (Bul) Cycling Club Bourgas
DNFPetar Eustatiev (Bul) Cycling Club Bourgas
DNFMartin Prazdnovsky (Svk) Cycling Club Bourgas
DNFPieter Ghyllebert (Bel) Cycling Club Bourgas
DNFNicolas Baldo (Fra) Continental Team Differdange
DNFPatrick Gressnich (Lux) Continental Team Differdange
DNFFredrik Johansson (Swe) Continental Team Differdange
DNFTom Thill (Lux) Continental Team Differdange
DNFStéphane Augé (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit en Ligne
DNFMickaël Buffaz (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit en Ligne
DNFRomain Villa (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit en Ligne
DNFAndoni Lafuente (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi
DNFAitor Hernandez Gutiérrez (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi
DNFJavier Aramendia Lorente (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi
DNFJorge Azanta Soto (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi
DNFPierre Cazaux (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
DNFBastien Delrot (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
DNFMark Cassidy (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
DNFBenny De Schrooder (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
DNFMatthew Brammeier (GBr) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
DNFPaidi O'Brien (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly Team
DNFDenis Galimzyanov (Rus) Team Katusha

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1