Vervecken wins Aalterse Jaarmarkttrofee; Nys has a run in with spectator

World cyclo-cross champion Erwin Vervecken has won the Aalterse Jaarmarkttrofee in a three man sprint, beating Sven Vanthourenhout and Niels Albert at the end of an eventful race. The winner of the last two editions, Sven Nys (Rabobank) had a run-in with a spectator, who moved a barricade into his path, causing him to crash. Nys punched the spectator, then reported him to the police.

"I did that because I really had the impression that the man wanted to take me down," explained Nys. "In that, he succeeded. After the incident, Peter van den Abeele came to me with the guy. He told me that he did not want to hit me and was even a supporter of me. But when he gave a false address, I went to the police. My season could have ended here."

For full results from Aalterse Jaarmarkttrofee, click here.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1