Van Aert and Cant claim Bpost Bank Trofee titles

The Bpost Bank Trofee wrapped up with the final round, Waaslandcross, in Sint-Niklaas on Saturday. Recently crowned world champion Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace) and compatriot Sanne Cant (Enertherm - BKCP) won the overall titles in the elite men's and women's series', respectively.

Van Aert capped off a strong season winning the series in 7:50:13, beating Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Napoleon) and Sven Nys (Crelan-AA Drink). In the women's series, Cant won the title with an accumulative time of 5:53:10, beating Jolien Verschueren (VZW Young Telenet Fidea) and Helen Wyan (Kona).

Van Aert won six of the eight  Bpost Bank Trofee rounds in Ronse, Oudenaarde, Hamme, Essen, Antwerpen and Baal. Tom Meeusen won the round in Loenhout and Laurens Sweeck won the final round in Sint-Niklaas.

Cant won four rounds of the Bpost Bank series in Essen, Antwerpen, Loenhout and Baal, and so, placing third in the final round, did not hurt her chances of winning the overall title in Sint-Niklaas. She told race organizers that she was sick earlier in the week and has been on antibiotics, making her overall win more meaningful.

"I felt really bad. So, I am particularly pleased that I was able to secure the victory. This is my second ranking here and there may be a third to follow," Cant said.

Brief Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Wout Van Aert (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team7:50:13
2Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team0:08:43
3Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan - AA Drink Team0:09:32
4Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Team Giant - Alpecin0:11:49
5Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Era - Murprotec0:12:03
6Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team0:13:14
7Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Sunweb - Napoleon Games Cycling Team0:14:25
8Tim Merlier (Bel) Vastgoedservice - Golden Palace Cycling Team0:15:22
9Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:15:50
10Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) Era - Murprotec0:18:04
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm - BKCP5:53:10
2Jolien Verschueren (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:04:11
3Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Team0:05:00
4Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:09:26
5Pavla Havlikova (Cze) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:10:13
6Nikki Harris (GBr) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:11:46
7Sophie De Boer (Ned) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team0:18:22
8Loes Sels (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team0:18:28
9Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) AA Drink-Kalas Cycling Team0:19:55
10Thalita De Jong (Ned) Rabobank Liv0:22:14


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1