USA Cycling recognizes nine cycling clubs for excellence

USA Cycling announced on December 12 the recipients of its annual "Club of the Year" competition. Of the 1,905 USA Cycling-sanctioned clubs in the United States, nine were chosen this year for recognition in three overall divisions and six special categories.

The San Diego Bicycle Club earned the Division I Club of the year distinction, while the Skylands Cycling Club in Sussex, New Jersey was designated Division II Club of the year and Team DRT/Deep Blue in Wilmington, Delaware took home the Division III award. (Division I is defined as having 76+ members, while Division II clubs have between 30 and 75 members and Division III has less than 30.)

Other recipients include Western State College in Gunnison, Colorado as the Collegiate Club of the year, Hammer Racing Team in Littleton, Colorado as Track Club of the year, Dirty Divas of MTB Cincy in Ohio as Mountain Bike Club of the year, Velo Girls in San Mateo, California as Women's Club of the year, the Pasadena Athletic Association as Master's Club of the year and the Boise Young Rider Development Squad (BYRDS) in Idaho as the Junior/High School Club of the year.

The six special categories were chosen by evaluating programs which resulted in the growth of their respective disciplines or groups. As part of the recognition, these nine clubs will all receive complimentary club dues in 2007, a $150 value.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1