US Junior Worlds Selection Team Announced

USA Cycling have announced the lineup for the 2005 UCI Junior Road and Track World Championships squad, which run from August 7-14 in Vienna/Oberwart, Austria. A total of fifteen riders have been named to the squad, from which the final selection will be made closer to the events.

The long team for the men’s road events includes the automatic nominations of Peter Stetina, Caleb Fairly and Chris Stockburger.

Stetina secured his place when he won the junior men’s road race at the Park City Cycling Festival and took second in the six-race junior world championship team selection series. Fairly was the overall winner of the series, while Stockburger earned an automatic nomination to ride the time trial after winning the US national title. He was also nominated to the road team because of that result. The squad features three other riders - Tejay Van Garderen, Spencer Beamer, and Adam Switters, who gained their place as coaches' selections.

These riders will participate in a two-week European campaign headed by national team coach Danny Van Haute. The final team for the world championships will then be selected from this group.

Meanwhile, Daniel Holloway and Richard Schenck were named as discretionary selections for the track races. Schenck recently captured a junior national title in the points race and was a member of the winning madison duo, while Holloway won a national championship in the individual pursuit.

In women's track events, Natalie Klemko secured a discretionary pick following her win in the keirin and the silver medal she took in the individual pursuit at the national championships. Kimberly Geist was already an automatic qualifier on the track but was added to the road roster after riding to a silver medal in both the time trial and the road race at the Park City Cycling Festival.

2005 UCI Junior World Championships, complete U.S. roster:

Men's Road

Chris Stockburger (Fort Collins, Colorado) automatic selection to time trial, road race long team)
Peter Stetina (Boulder, Colorado) road long team
Caleb Fairly (Amarillo, Texas) road long team
Tejay Van Garderen (Missoula, Montana) road long team
Spencer Beamer (Knoxville, Tennessee) road long team
Adam Switters (Folsom, California) road long team

Women's Road

Shannon Koch (Flower Mound, Texas.) - time trial, road race
Kimberly Geist (Emmaus, Philadelphia) - time trial, road race

Men's Track

Ben Barczewski (Breinigisville, Philadelphia) - team sprint, sprint, keirin
Spencer Hartfeld (Santa Barbara, California) - team sprint, sprint, keirin, kilometre time trial
Mike Schnabel (Emmaus, Philadelphia) - team sprint, sprint
Daniel Holloway (Morgan Hill, California) - individual pursuit, scratch race, madison
Richard Schenck (Milford, New Jersey) - points race, madison

Women's Track

Cindy Lakatosh (Trexlertown, Philadelphia) - sprint, keirin, 500 meter time trial
Kimberly Geist (Emmaus, Philadelphia) - individual pursuit, scratch race
Natalie Klemko (Bristol, Wisconsin) - points race, keirin

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1