Skip to main content

Tour of Qatar announces dates and teams

2006 Tour of Qatar: Tom Boonen

2006 Tour of Qatar: Tom Boonen (Image credit: AFP)

Tuesday, ASO announced that the sixth edition of the Tour of Qatar will be held from the January 28 to February 2, 2007. The race offers favourable weather conditions, which is why numerous riders have chosen Qatar to start off their seasons.

For 2007, 17 teams have been selected to take part in the Middle-East's biggest event. Among the three Belgian teams that will be in the main pack, Quick-Step hasn't yet confirmed if their leader and 2006 winner Tom Boonen would be competing. A winner of five of the six stages in 2006, he will possibly have to face fierce opposition to carry his domination in Doha. While Alessandro Petacchi, who is among his toughest rivals when it comes to sprints, has planned to test out his legs on the roads of Qatar.

The 17 teams selected:
Belgium: Chocolade Jacques-Topsport Vlaanderen, Davitamon-Lotto, Quick-Step
Spain: Astaná, Saunier Duval-Prodir
France: Ag2R Prévoyance, Bouygues Telecom
Germany: Gerolsteiner, T-Mobile
Iran: National team
Ireland: Murphy and Gun-M Donnelly – Sean Kelly Team
Italy: Liquigas, Milram
Kazakhstan: Cycling Team Capec
Netherlands: Rabobank, Skil-Shimano
Qatar: Doha Team

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1