Skip to main content

Thirteen in a row for Nys

Sven Nys (Rabobank) takes his third of three

Sven Nys (Rabobank) takes his third of three (Image credit: Luc Claessen)

Sven Nys' (Rabobank) win in Sunday's Superprestige third round in Asper-Gavere was his third for this season and thirteenth Superprestige race win in a row, tightening his stranglehold on the overall classification in the series. The last time a Superprestige race was won by a rider other than Nys was back in Diegem in 2005 when Gerben De Knegt managed to get ahead of Nys in the finishing sprint.

The French champion, Francis Mourey won the tight sprint for second from Belgian champion and second overall in the series, Bart Wellens.

Four riders from the Fidea team placed in the top six, but beating the top rider in the world today was beyond them, as was getting in front of the French champion, Mourey. Mourey's second place also provided Nys with a even greater buffer from second placed Bart Wellens whom he now leads by six points. Wellens' team-mate, Zdenek Stybar is in third three points behind Wellens, with Dutchman Richard Groenedaal 16 points behind the leader in fourth place..