Team H&R Block announces squad

Entering its third season of competition, Canadian Team H&R Block has announced its team for the 2008 season. The Calgary-based team enjoyed considerable success in 2007, capturing the team classification of the Alberta Road Cup, a National Master's Time Trial title, both men's and women's Alberta Provincial Road Championships, and placing two junior riders on the National Road Team.

The focus of Team H&R Block for the 2008 season is to continue to build and support a strong Elite team to be a dominant force in Alberta road, track, and cyclo-cross racing, and to establish a presence at select National and regional events. Targeted races beyond Alberta include the Tour of Walla Walla (Washington state), B.C. SuperWeek, and National Championships in both road and track.

Key additions to the team for 2008 include National Track Team member Ryan McKenzie, National Track Championships medalist Mark MacDonald, first-year Elite Aaron Schooler, twice a member of the National Cyclo-cross team, and Christiaan DeVries, a former National-caliber Espoir rider. McKenzie brings a wealth of big-race experience to the team, while Schooler and McDonald represent tremendous potential coupled with an ability to be immediately competitive at a National level.

Finally, the team is pleased to add a Sport Director to oversee the Elite team this season: Andy Holmwood, former Technical Director of the Alberta Bicycle Association, will direct the Elite Team at all major events.

Team H&R Block

2008 Espoir/Elite Roster:

Jeff Bolstad, Chris DeVries, Cyrus Kangarloo, Mark MacDonald, Ryan McKenzie, Chris McNeil, Aaron Schooler, Anthony Steenburgen (Alberta Provincial Road Champion)

2008 Women's Roster:

Carrie Tuck (Alberta Provincial Road Champion), Skye Mitchell, Megan Rathwell, Melanie Zinck

2008 Regional Roster:

Dallas Morris, Gideon Kristalka, Adam Boyko, Steve Shiers, Mike Wrubleski, Peter Lawrence, Phil McDonald, Trevor Gunderson, Shawn Taylor, Mark Foster, Robin Baillie, Harley Borlee, Stuart Hughes, Dave Jetz, Zane Westerbeek.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1