Skip to main content

T-Mobile wants Berne World Cup win

Image 1 of 2

German legend Judith Arndt (T-Mobile)

German legend Judith Arndt (T-Mobile) (Image credit: Ben Atkins)
Image 2 of 2

Suzanne De Goede (T-Mobile)

Suzanne De Goede (T-Mobile) (Image credit: CJ Farquharson)

Flexpoint & Menikini Selle Italia Gysko rosters announced

Fresh off four successful days of racing at the Gracia Orlova in the Czech Republic, Judith Arndt will lead T-Mobile at Sunday's Tour de Berne, the fifth leg of the UCI women's World Cup on May 13. Arndt had dominated the race with a win on a tough mountain stage and time trial on her way to the overall win.

"It was very exciting to see Judith win Gracia and it shows that her form is still on the up and up, so I am very much looking forward to Berne," said T-Mobile sporting director Anna Wilson.

T-Mobile's other card to play is Australian Oenone Wood, who was the runner-up behind Zoulfia Zabirova (Biglia) in Berne last year on a course she is known to like.

The women will race three laps of a 28km circuit followed by two laps of a 20.8km circuit for 125.6km total and 890 meters of climbing. Although less hilly than the last World Cup, Flèche Wallonne, two hills on the second circuit could prove decisive in forming a lead group to go on for the win..

"We will be making sure that we have riders at the front on the climbs, or away in breakaways so that we are always in contention for the win," said Wilson of the team's strategy. She added that any of the team's riders could take the win - what's important is a team win.

The T-mobile women's team will contest the race with a strong field including defending champion Zabirova, World Cup leader Nicole Cooke (Raleigh) and the flying Dutchwoman Marianne Vos (DSB Bank) who will be buoyed by her Flèche Wallonne win last month.

Some women's squads will also race the Omloop van Borsele on Saturday, May 12.

T-Mobile for Berne: Judith Arndt, Chantal Beltman, Susanne de Goede, Alex Rhodes, Linda Villumsen, and Oenone Wood. Director: Anna Wilson (Australia)

Menikini Selle Italia Gysko for Tour de Bern: Sigrid Corneo, Olivia Gollan, Rochelle Gilmore, Miho Oki, Dorthe Rasmussen, Karin Aune. Saranno. Director: Walter Zini.

Flexpoint for Berne: Loes Gunnewijk, Luise Keller, Loes Markerink, Mirjam Melchers, Madeleine Sandig , Iris Slappendel. Directors: Jean-Paul van Poppel, Klas Johansson

Flexpoint for Omloop van Borsele (May 12): Mie Lacota, Amber Neben, Moniek Kleinsman, Trine Schmidt, Suzanne van Veen