Skip to main content

Spanish announce Worlds TT selections

Francisco Antequera, the Spanish national selector, announced on Wednesday the Spanish squad for time trials at the World Road Championships. The men's elite time trial will be contested by Spanish time trial champion José Iván Gutiérrez and Luis León Sánchez (both Caisse d'Epargne).

Gutiérrez will try to win his first world title after being Spanish champion four times and finishing second at the Worlds in 2005 to Aussie Michael Rogers. Young Luis León Sánchez was chosen out of three riders, himself, Santos González (Karpin Galicia) and Iker Camaño (Saunier Duval).

Antequera explained that his selection was difficult, as none of the three selected riders performed well during the individual time trial on Stage 8 of the Vuelta. "Even if [Sánchez] and myself know that he is not in his best form because he had to work for his team at the Vuelta, he is the best selection because he is a specialist with a bright future," said Antequera. "It's evident that he won't win this year, but the experience will benefit him for future World Championships."

The riders who will contest the under 23 time trial are Rafa Serrano and Sergio Domínguez while the women's selection is Maribel Moreno and Marta Vilajosana. The team will travel from Barcelona to Stuttgart on Monday. The time trial competitions will be held on Wednesday and Thursday.

Courtesy of Monika Prell

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1