Savio celebrates 20 wins in Langkawi

Gianni Savio

Gianni Savio (Image credit: Evis Chu)

By Greg Johnson in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Gianni Savio's Professional Continental squad has claimed its 20th stage victory at Malaysia's Tour de Langkawi, following another successful sprint by Mattia Gavazzi. An impressive five victories from six stages at this year's race has seen Diquigiovanni-Androni reach the milestone.

"It's a good win for us, as explained it's victory number 20 in the Tour de Langkawi," said Savio. "I am very happy. I like, very much, the Tour de Langkawi and Malaysia."

Savio's squad, which currently holds three of the race's four jerseys, is on track to achieve another milestone at the event today. The Venezuelan squad leads the general classification with Jose Serpa heading into today's closing criterium, and will become the first squad to take four overall victories at the 2.HC race in the likely event Serpa sticks with the bunch.

Savio's squad first won the event overall in 2002 with Hernan Dario Munoz and again in 2004 with Freddy Gonzalez, but its first stage win came in 2000 with Australian Jamie Drew on Stage 2. Its most recent overall victory came at last year's event, where Ruslan Ivanov took victory.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1