Rabobank in Paris-Roubaix

Team leaders Frans Maassen and Adri van Houwelingen have selected eight riders for Paris-Roubaix, the famous ProTour Classic scheduled for coming Sunday. Maassen and Van Houwelingen will line up Juan Antonio Flecha, Max van Heeswijk, Léon van Bon, Pedro Horrillo, Jan Boven, Bram de Groot, Rick Flens and Dmitriy Kozontchuk.

Rabobank will have to do without Mathew Hayman. Yesterday, the Australian rider broke his elbow in Gent-Wevelgem.

Léon van Bon is the most experienced rider in Sunday's team roster. Van Bon will start in his 12th Paris-Roubaix. He was a top ten finisher four times in the event. Jan Boven, Pedro Horrillo and Max van Heeswijk all will start for their seventh time in the cobblestone Classic.

Juan Antonio Flecha carries the experience of three earlier editions of Paris-Roubaix. Last year, Flecha finished third behind Fabian Cancellara (CSC).

Dmitriy Kozontchuk, Bram de Groot and Rick Flens will get their first start in the 'Hell of the North'. Still, Kozontchuk is familiar with the finale of the race. In 2005, he won the Under 23 edition of Paris-Roubaix after a solo of 80 kilometres.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1