Peter Sagan headlines Shanghai Criterium

Former world champion Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) will be without his brother Juraj in the ASO's Shanghai Criterium this weekend. Juraj Sagan was one of three late withdrawals after breaking his foot in training. 

Rick Zabel (Katusha-Alpecin) was unable to travel to China after breaking his collarbone in a training crash, while Tanel Kangert (Astana) injured his arm.

The ASO event will still have a star-studded field, with Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) as headliner, although last year's champion Chris Froome will not be in attendance.

Pierre Latour (AG2R La Mondiale), the best young rider in the Tour de France this year, was one of the first to arrive in China for the race. As is tradition, he will wear his white jersey in the Shanghai Criterium.

"I've never been to China, so I'm really excited to race there," Latour said in an ASO press release. "Riding with a Tour jersey makes it even more awesome because it implies extra responsibility."

When Peter Sagan arrived, he found the airport mobbed with fans holding up signs and cheering.

But come race day, all eyes will be on the Chinese riders as well as one of the country's most famous actors, Ethan Ruan, star of The Assassin, who is the race ambassador.

See more

Provisional start list

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Team Sky
1Geraint Thomas (GBr)
2Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa)
3Owain Doull (GBr)
4Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
AG2R La Mondiale
41Romain Bardet (Fra)
42Pierre Latour (Fra)
43Axel Domont (Fra)
44Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Heibei Cycling Team
81Jiahao Ren (Chn)
82Chao Zeng (Chn)
83Ziphan Gao (Chn)
84Siyu Yang (Chn)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
11Peter Sagan (Svk)
12Erik Baska (Svk)
13Daniel Oss (Ita)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Astana Pro Team
51Jakob Fuglsang (Den)
52Andrey Grivko (Ukr)
53Jan Hirt (Cze)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Yunnan Taishan Pardus
91Xiaojun Fan (Chn)
92Qiang Fu (Chn)
93Juntao Meng (Chn)
94Benneng Yu (Chn)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
21Matteo Trentin (Ita)
22Mathew Hayman (Aus)
23Lucas Hamilton (Aus)
24Luka Mezgec (Slo)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
61Mei Yin Wang (Chn)
62Chun Kai Feng (Tpe)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Neimenggu Cycling Team
101Pan Hao (Chn)
102Hengyan Zhang (Chn)
103Guanhua Xue (Chn)
104Jiayuan Li (Chn)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
31Marcel Kittel (Ger)
32Marco Mathis (Ger)
33Nils Politt (Ger)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Ningxia Sports Lottery
71Chunlong Zhang (Chn)
72Feng Qiao (Chn)
73Lijun Bai (Chn)
74Peng Gao (Chn)
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Heilongjiang Cycling Team
111Hanghai Wang (Chn)
112Honghai Li (Chn)
113Zilong Li (Chn)
114Liming You (Chn)


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1