Paris-Roubaix announces 25 invited teams

The Amaury Sport Organisation (AS), the organiser for Paris-Roubaix, has announced today the 25 teams which will comprise the field for the "Queen of the Classics" on April 8, 2012. As the race is a part of the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) WorldTour, all 18 ProTeams automatically receive invitations. The peloton will be completed by seven Professional Continental teams who have garnered wildcard invitations.

All four French Pro Continental teams earned invitations, Bretagne-Schuller, Cofidis, Saur-Sojasun and Team Europcar, while Farnese Vini-Selle Italia, Project 1t4i and Team NetApp round out the wildcard selections.

The 2011 edition of Paris-Roubaix was won by Johan Vansummeren in a solo victory, with Fabian Cancellara winning the sprint for second from Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank Cycling Team), Grégory Rast (Team RadioShack) and Lars Ytting Bak (HTC-Highroad) 19 seconds later.

ProTeams for Paris-Roubaix

AG2R-La Mondiale (Fra)
Astana Pro Team (Kaz)
BMC Racing Team (USA)
Euskaltel-Euskadi (Spa)
FDJ-Big Mat (Fra)
Garmin-Barracuda (USA)
GreenEdge Cycling Team (Aus)
Katusha Team (Rus)
Lampre-ISD (Ita)
Liquigas-Cannondale (Ita)
Lotto Belisol Team (Bel)
Movistar Team (Spa)
Omega Pharma-Quickstep (Bel)
Rabobank Cycling Team (Ned)
RadioShack-Nissan (Lux)
Sky Procycling (GBr)
Team Saxo Bank (Den)
Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team (Ned)

Pro Continental wildcard selections for Paris-Roubaix

Bretagne-Schuller (Fra)
Cofidis, Le Crédit En Ligne (Fra)
Farnese Vini-Selle Italia (GBr)
Project 1t4i (Ned)
Saur-Sojasun (Fra)
Team Europcar (Fra)
Team NetApp (Ger)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1