Organisers confirm 23 teams for Strade Bianche Women

Strade Bianche 2020 Women 14th Edition Siena Siena 136 km 01082020 Annemiek Van VleutenMitchelton Scott photo Valerio PagniBettiniPhoto2020
(Image credit: Bettini Photo)

RCS Sport have announce a total of 23 teams, including nine Women's WorldTeams, six top-ranked Continental and eight wildcard teams, that will line up to race the opening round of the Women's WorldTour Strade Bianche on March 6. 

The nine top-tier teams will include defending champion Annemiek van Vleuten's Movistar squad, along with SD Worx, Alè BTC Ljubljana, Canyon-SRAM, FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope, Team BikeExchange, Liv Racing, Movistar Team Women, Team DSM and Trek-Segafredo.

Marianne Vos' new Jumbo-Visma squad will be on the start line, too, along with a total of nine Italian-registered teams led by WorldTeam Alè BTC Ljubljana and Continental teams A.R. Monex Women's Pro Cycling Team, Aromitalia Basso Bikes Vaiano, Bepink, Born To Win G20 Ambedo, Isolmant-Premac-Vittoria, Servetto-Makhymo-Beltrami TSA, Top Girls Fassa Bortolo and Valcar-Travel & Service.

The organisers recently announced that they will use the same 136km route as the 2020 Strade Bianche won by Annemiek van Vleuten.

The women's 136km race will start at 9:10am CET and include a total of 31.4km of gravel across eight sectors, before finishing on the steep ascent at the Piazza del Campo in Siena.

The gravel sections vary in length beginning at the 18km-mark with the Vidritta (2.1km). The race then hits Bagnaia (5.8km), Radi (4.4km) and La Piana (5.5km) before reaching the feedzone at the 59km-mark. The gravel continues in the last half of the parcours at S.Martino in Grania (9.5km), Monteaperti (0.8km), Colle Pinzuto (2.4km) and finally Le Tolfe (1.1km) located 12km to the finish line in Siena.

Van Vleuten has won the last two editions of Strade Bianche, and other past winners include Anna van der Breggen (SD Worx), Lizzie Deignan and Elisa Longo Borghini of Trek-Segafredo.

Join Cyclingnews for live coverage of 2021 Strade Bianche, and check in after the race for our full report, results, gallery, news and features.

Strade Bianche Women 2021

Strade Bianche Women 2021 (Image credit: RCS Sport)

2021 Strade Bianche Women teams

  • A.R. Monex Women's Pro Cycling Team (Ita)
  • Ale' BTC Ljubljana (Ita)
  • Aromitalia Basso Bikes Vaiano (Ita)
  • Bepink (Ita)
  • Born To Win G20 Ambedo (Ita)
  • Canyon-Sram Racing (Ger)
  • Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling Team (Ger)
  • FDJ Nouvelle-aquitaine Futuroscope (Fra)
  • Isolmant-Premac-Vittoria (Ita)
  • Jumbo-Visma Women Team (Ned)
  • Liv Racing (Ned)
  • Lotto Soudal Ladies (Bel)
  • Massi Tactic Women Team (Esp)
  • Movistar Team Women (Esp)
  • Parkhotel Valkenburg (Ned)
  • Servetto - Makhymo - Beltrami tsa (Ita)
  • Team BikeExchange (Aus)
  • Team DSM (Ger)
  • Team SD Worx (Ned)
  • Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank (USA)
  • Top Girls Fassa Bortolo (Ita)
  • Trek-Segafredo (USA)
  • Valcar-Travel & Service (Ita)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Cyclingnews is the world's leader in English-language coverage of professional cycling. Started in 1995 by University of Newcastle professor Bill Mitchell, the site was one of the first to provide breaking news and results over the internet in English. The site was purchased by Knapp Communications in 1999, and owner Gerard Knapp built it into the definitive voice of pro cycling. Since then, major publishing house Future PLC has owned the site and expanded it to include top features, news, results, photos and tech reporting. The site continues to be the most comprehensive and authoritative English voice in professional cycling.