Skip to main content

More prognostics for Paris-Roubaix

Belgian paper Het Laatse Nieuws queried past winners of Paris-Roubaix to ascertain their thoughts for the 104th edition.

Andrei Tchmil won in 1994, and his opionion is, "I'm certain that Boonen will win. If another rider takes the victory than it will be because Boonen had a technical problem. He is not twice but ten times stronger than all the others nowadays."

Tchmil's podium: 1. Tom Boonen, 2. Thor Hushovd, 3. Leif Hoste

Franco Ballerini, winner of the 1995 and 1998 editions of the Hell of the North said, "Quick.Step will be the team to beat again. They have Boonen of course. He is the most logical candidate, but they shouldn't forget about Pozzato. He is in marvellous form. Other teams have got individual talents: Hushovd, Hincapie, Hoste, Weseman maybe."

Ballerini's podium: 1. Tom Boonen, 2. George Hincapie, 3. Thor Hushovd

Jean-Marie Wampers, the 1998 winner, said, "With the same legs as he had in the Ronde, no-one will beat Tom. His most important competition will be Tom Boonen himself and his bike. The finale will be coloured blue and white, so also with Discovery and Hincapie; he's the only one who can beat Boonen. George is made for Paris-Roubaix."

Wampers' podium: 1. Tom Boonen, 2. George Hincapie, 3. Filippo Pozzato

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1