Skip to main content

Milram and Gerolsteiner for Sanremo

Petacchi in 2006 edition

Petacchi in 2006 edition (Image credit: Sirotti)

Team Milram is pulling out all its big guns for the upcoming Milan - San Remo (Milano-Sanremo), sending all three of its captains. Former winners and sprinters Alessandro Petacchi (2005) and Erik Zabel (1997, 1998, 2000 and 2001) will lead the team, and both are considered among the favourites to win.

The team's other captain, Igor Astarloa, will also be there, as will Mirko Celestino, "so that the team is ready for any event."

Milram for Sanremo: Alessandro Petacchi, Erik Zabel, Igor Astarloa, Mirko Celestino, Alberto Ongarato, Fabio Sacchi, Marco Velo and Christian Knees.

Davide Rebellin and Stefan Schumacher will be leading Team Gerolsteiner in La Classicissima. Both are coming off successful races last weekend; Rebellin finished second overall in Paris-Nice, and Schumacher won a stage in Tirreno-Adriatico. In addition, the team is sending David Kopp for a possible sprint finish.

Gerolsteiner for Sanremo: Thomas Fothen, Heinrich Haussler, David Kopp, Andrea Moletta, Davide Rebellin, Stefan Schumacher, Fabian Wegmann and Peter Wrolich.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1