France names Olympic track squad

With the end of the Track World Championships, the final criteria for the selection of riders for the track events of the Olympic Games has been completed. France has become the first nation to announce its provisional selection for the Beijing Games, naming twelve riders on Friday. According to AFP, National selector Patrick Cluzaud proposed the list of names to be considered by the national sport commission on May 22.

Men's team sprint: Grégory Baugé (US Creteil), Kevin Sireau (Cofidis), Arnaud Tournant (Cofidis). Alternate: Mickaël Bourgain (Cofidis)
Men's sprint: Kevin Sireau, Mickaël Bourgain
Men's Keirin: Arnaud Tournant, Grégory Baugé
Men's team pursuit: (four riders from) Damien Gaudin (Bouygues Telecom), Matthew Ladagnous (Francaise des Jeux), Nicolas Rousseau (AG2R), Christophe Riblon (AG2R) and Fabien Sanchez (Côte d'Azur)
Individual pursuit: To be decided at the French Championships (3 to 9 July in Hyeres)
Men's points race: Christophe Riblon
Men's madison: Jerome Neuville and Matthew Ladagnous
Women's sprint: Clara Sanchez (Provence)
Women's points race: Pascale Jeuland (Vienna Futuroscope)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1