Skip to main content

Favorites ready for 24 Hours of Moab

Nat Ross(Subaru/Gary Fisher), Nick Martin (Trek/VW), Tinker Juarez (Cannondale), Tim Graczyk (Wily) and Josh Tostado (Giant) are among the favorites who will vie for victory this weekend at the 12th Annual 24 Hours of Moab.

A win at Moab would top earn Ross the Granny Gear 24 hour race series title in the 2006. Last year, Ross underwent eye surgery to correct vision in his left eye and improve his poor night vision. Surgery for his right eye is cheduled for the week after this year's race. So far this year, Ross has already won the 24 Hours of Temecula in April and the 24 Hours of Landahl in September and competed as a member of the winning four person team in the Race Across America (RAAM).

Perennial race favorite Juarez, who also completed the RAAM this year, last won the solo category in 2003 when Ross took third. Ross said, "Racing against Tinker is the real deal. Tinker is a true icon in the sport and has taken 24-hour racing to new heights. I enjoyed doing RAAM with him this year - it was cool to have so many mountain bikers amongst the best roadies from around the world!"

The 15-mile racecourse at Moab has a reputation as one of the most challenging courses in the world with fabled rock ledges, sandy descents, and 1,360 feet of climbing on each lap.

Check back on Cyclingnews after the weekend for full results from the 24 Hours of Moab.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

MTB "super-couple", Mary McConneloug and Mike Broderick live together, train together, travel together and race together. They also share this diary on Cyclingnews.

Follow their adventures as they race the World Cup cross country circuit throughout 2009. Enjoy the unique, professional racing style of these two accomplished racers and world travelers.