Euskaltel names Vuelta ten

By Monika Prell

With less than two weeks until the start of this year's final Grand Tour, Spain's Vuelta a España, Basque squad Euskaltel-Euskadi has announced ten riders who be considered for the team's final roster. The team's leader is Asturian Samuel Sánchez, who is focusing on the Vuelta and the World Championships following a strong start of the season. The 29 year-old finished seventh overall at last year's Vuelta, after taking victory on Stage 13 between Guadalajara and Cuenca.

In addition to Sánchez, Haimar Zubeldia, who rode a strong Tour de France to finish fifth, and the young hope Igor Antón are all but confirmed for the final lineup. Veteran Iñigo Landaluze and sprinters Iñaki Isasi and Koldo Fernández de Larrea have a strong chance to make the final cut while Aitor Hernández, Dionisio Galparsoro, Juan José Oroz and Alan Pérez are fighting for the final positions in the nine man squad.

The team will be under the supervision of Sports director Gorka Gerrikagoitia.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1