Eolo-Kometa lead 2021 Giro d'Italia wildcards

PIANCAVALLO ITALY OCTOBER 18 Start Trofeo Senza Fine Trophy Detail view Team Presentation during the 103rd Giro dItalia 2020 Stage 15 a 185km stage from Base Aerea Rivolto Frecce Tricolori to Piancavallo 1290m girodiitalia Giro on October 18 2020 in Piancavallo Italy Photo by Stuart FranklinGetty Images
The Trofeo Senza Fine, trophy of the Giro d'Italia (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Giro d'Italia organisers RCS Sport have announced the three wildcard entries for the 2021 race, with the new Pro Continental team Eolo-Kometa leading the way alongside Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè and Vini Zabù.

The Italian-registered and Spanish-based Eolo-Kometa, which is led by now-retired Giro winners Alberto Contador and Ivan Basso, moved up from the Continental level for 2021 having grown from the Fundación Contador. Title sponsor, the internet provider Eolo, is familiar to cycling fans as sponsors of RCS Sport races Il Lombardia, Gran Piemonte, Tirreno-Adriatico and Strade Bianche.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1