Di Luca and Garzelli to lead Liquigas at GP Indurain and Paìs Vasco

Danilo Di Luca and Stefano Garzelli will captain Liquigas in Saturday’s GP Miguel Indurain (April 1) and next week’s Vuelta Ciclista al Paìs Vasco (April 3-7). Di Luca will return to the race where he began his great run in the 2005 season which eventually saw him crowned the inaugural Pro Tour champion.

Di Luca won a stage win and took the overall victory at Paìs Vasco last year, but this year things may be a little different. "This year I’m focusing on the Giro d’Italia," said the Italian. "I like this race very much and I’m going to do my best, though I’m not in peak form like last year," he added.

In light of Di Luca's change of focus, Stefano Garzelli may be one of the key riders for Liquigas in these two races. Garzelli won the G.P. Miguel Indurain in 1999 and has taken two stages of Paìs Vasco (in 1999 and 2001).

Liquigas’ squad for GP Indurain and Vuelta Ciclista al Paìs Vasco: Dario Cioni, Vladimir Miholjevic, Matej Mugerli, Andrea Noè, Alessandro Spezialetti, and Charles Wegelius. Team managers: Stefano Zanatta and Mario Chiesa.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1