Caisse d'Epargne presented in Paris

Alejandro Valverde and Oscar Pereiro

Alejandro Valverde and Oscar Pereiro (Image credit: Foto Abarca Sports)

Manager Eusebio Unzúe presented his Caisse d'Epargne team on Wednesday in Paris. The team is coming off a fantastic 2008, during which its star Alejandro Valverde claimed the top individual ProTour ranking and the team took the overall ProTour title.

"The beautiful victories we obtained in 2008 as well as the first places in the rankings were a great satisfaction for us, and they oblige us to do as well in 2009," said Unzúe. "But beyond our results, we underline that we respected our commitments to ethics and we showed the solidarity of our riders.

"The 2009 team, with four young and promising riders, will try again to be the best one in the races in which it takes part."

Caisse d'Epargne 2009: Andrey Amador, David Arroyo, Anthony Charteau, Rui Costa, Arnaud Coyot, Mathieu Drujon, Imanol Erviti, Txente García Acosta, Iván Gutiérrez, Arnold Jeannesson, Vasil Kiryienka, Pablo Lastras, David López, Alberto Losada, Ángel Madrazo, Dani Moreno, Luis Pasamontes, Oscar Pereiro, Marlón Pérez Arango, Fran Pérez, Mathieu Perget, Nicolas Portal, Joaquím Rodríguez, José Joaquín Rojas, Luis León Sánchez, Rigoberto Uran, Alejandro Valverde and Xabier Zandio.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1