Australian national junior track squad announced

Michael Hepburn after his record-breaking ride.

Michael Hepburn after his record-breaking ride. (Image credit: John Veage)

Cycling Australia has announced the squad to contest the track junior world championships in Moscow from August 7-15.

For many years, Australia has proven to be one of the world's best nations for producing talented junior track riders. Each year the team returns from the world titles with medals, a couple of star riders and a world record or two.

After great performances at the recent national championships in Adelaide, Michael Hepburn, Luke Durbridge, Annette Edmondson and Megan Dunn are amongst those riders selected in the 13-strong team.

Hepburn was a standout performer at the national titles, setting a new world record mark in the U19 men's 3000m individual pursuit that beat the mark set by American Taylor Phinney last year.

The full Australian team for junior world championships: Michaela Anderson (Western Australia), Alex Carver (New South Wales), Amy Cure (Tasmania), Megan Dunn (New South Wales), Luke Durbridge (Western Australia), Annette Edmondson (South Australia), Matthew Glaetzer (South Australia), James Glasspool (South Australia), Maddison Hammond (Victoria), Michael Hepburn (Queensland), Melissa Hoskins (Western Australia), Peter Loft (Tasmania), Dale Parker (South Australia)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1