Australia confirms worlds selection

Australian time trial champion Michael Rogers (Columbia-HTC) failed to make the top 10.

Australian time trial champion Michael Rogers (Columbia-HTC) failed to make the top 10. (Image credit: Jonathan Devich/

Cycling Australia has announced its final selection for this month’s International Cycling Union (UCI) World Road Championships in Switzerland. Michael Rogers (Columbia-HTC) will not contest the individual time trial race, instead riding the road event with Cadel Evans (Silence-Lotto) and Simon Gerrans (Cervelo Test Team).

After recovering from a stomach bug which saw him withdraw from the Vuelta a Espana, Allan Davis will contest the road race. A worlds spot will be the icing on the cake for Davis, who won the Tour Down Under in January and has started both the Vuelta and Giro d’Italia in 2009.

Despite out-pacing Davis to win Paris-Bruxelles last weekend, Matthew Goss didn’t make the final selection for Australia’s worlds team. Goss said following his sprint victory in Brussels that he hoped it was the first of many one-day victories, but the rainbow jersey on offer on Mendrisio’s hilly course won’t be the sprinter’s next one-day victory.

Other riders announced on the long list that didn’t make the final team include former Tour de France green jersey winner Baden Cook, current Australian Road Race Champion Peter McDonald, Brett Lancaster, Ritchie Porte, Mark Renshaw and Chris Sutton.

Rogers’ focus on the road race opens the door for Cameron Wurf to join Australian Time Trial Champion Adam Hansen in the time trial.

Oceania Road Race champion Alexis Rhodes head’s the women’s team, which includes Vicki Whitelaw, Emma Mackie, Rochelle Gilmore, Tiffany Cromwell and Ruth Corset. Rhodes and Whitelaw will be joined by Oceania champion Bridie O’Donnell in the women’s time trial.

Australia will also field a strong Under 23 men’s lineup, with Jack Bobridge, Leigh Howard and Timothy Roe amongst the five-strong road race squad. Bobridge will also contest the time trial, where he will be joined by Oceania champion John Anderson and Travis Meyer.

Elite Men
Simon Clarke (RR), Allan Davis (RR), Cadel Evans (RR), Simon Gerrans (RR), Adam Hansen (TT), Mathew Hayman (RR), Matt Lloyd (RR), Stuart O'Grady (RR), Michael Rogers (RR), Wesley Sulzberger (RR) and Cameron Wurf (TT).

Elite Women
Ruth Corset (RR), Tiffany Cromwell (RR), Rochelle Gilmore (RR), Emma Mackie (RR), Bridie O'Donnell (TT), Alexis Rhodes (RR/TT), Vicki Whitelaw (RR/TT).

U23 Men
John Anderson (TT), Jack Bobridge (RR/TT), Leigh Howard (RR), Michael Matthews (RR), Travis Meyer (TT), Mark O’Brien (RR), Timothy Roe (RR).

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1