Armstrong, Van Moorsel, Berrecloth & Dahle nominated for Laureus Awards

Lance Armstrong heads a list of four cyclists nominated for this year's Laureus World Sports Awards. Although this year's list is dominated by Olympic achievements, Armstrong's record-breaking sixth Tour de France victory has to make him a strong contender in the category of Laureus World Sportsman of the Year, against runner Hicham El Guerrouj, tennis player Roger Federer, swimmer Michael Phelps, Formula One driver Michael Schumacher and motorbike racer Valentino Rossi.

Leontien Zijlaard-van Moorsel was nominated for Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year for her record number of Olympic medals in cycling. She is up against runner Kelly Holmes, pole vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva, heptathlete Carolina Kluft, tennis player Maria Sharapova and golfer Annika Sorenstam.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1