Armstrong sets another record

By Shane Stokes

Lance Armstrong has been named the Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year for the fourth consecutive time, becoming the first athlete to do so since the award was introduced in 1931.

Armstrong's record-extending seventh straight Tour de France win saw him take 30 of the 83 votes cast. Second place went to Reggie Bush, the Heisman Trophy-winning running back landing 23 votes, while the Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning scored eight votes for third. Roger Federer (tennis) and Tiger Woods (golf) were equal fourth with seven votes each.

Testicular cancer survivor Armstrong retired immediately after winning the Tour last July, having gone two victories better than the previous record of five, shared by Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain.

He also had the rare distinction of retiring as an undefeated Tour de France champion.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1