Teasing out the facts and figures from Amstel Gold Race

TOPSHOT The peleton rides past a windmill during the Amstel Gold Cycling Race in Maastricht Netherlands on April 21 2019 Photo by Marcel van Hoorn ANP AFP Netherlands OUT Photo credit should read MARCEL VAN HOORNAFP via Getty Images
The 2019 Amstel Gold Race (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

A relatively new top-level one-day race, Amstel Gold Race was due to hold its 55th edition on Sunday. The race has been postponed, however, due to the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic, and is unlikely to be rescheduled at a later date this year.

There will be a virtual race, though, following on from a similar event run for the Tour of Flanders.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Most wins
Header Cell - Column 0 RiderWins
1Jan Raas5
2Philippe Gilbert4
3Eddy Merckx2
4Gerrie Knetemann2
5Rolf Järmann2
6Enrico Gasparotto2
7Michael Boogerd2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Medals table
Header Cell - Column 0 Rider1st2nd3rd
1Jan Raas511
2Philippe Gilbert400
3Michael Boogerd232
4Gerrie Knetemann210
5Enrico Gasparotto202
6Eddy Merckx201
7Rolf Järmann200
8Steven Rooks120
9Joop Zoetemelk112
10Johan Museeuw111
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Most finishes
Header Cell - Column 0 RiderFinishes
1Davide Rebellin16
2Maarten den Bakker15
3Mauro Gianetti14
3Johan Museeuw14
3Joop Zoetemelk14
3Philippe Gilbert14
3Bram Tankink14
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Most top 10s without a win
Header Cell - Column 0 RiderTop 10s
1Òscar Freire6
1Hennie Kuiper6
1Alejandro Valverde6
2Claude Criquielion5
3Karsten Kroon4
3Julian Alaphilippe4
3Paolo Bettini4
3Gerard Vianen4
3Simon Gerrans4
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Oldest winners
Header Cell - Column 0 RiderAgeYear
1Joop Zoetemelk40 years, 143 days1987
2Philippe Gilbert34 years, 286 days2017
3Gerrie Knetemann34 years, 53 days1985
4Sergei Ivanov34 years, 46 days2009
5Enrico Gasparotto34 years, 27 days2016
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Youngest winners
Header Cell - Column 0 RiderAgeYear
1Gerrie Knetemann23 years, 38 days1974
2Jacques Hanegraaf23 years, 128 days1984
3Harry Steevens23 years, 147 days1969
4Georges Pintens23 years, 192 days1970
5Walter Planckaert23 years, 352 days1972
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Fastest editions
Header Cell - Column 0 RiderYearSpeed (kph)
1Arie den Hartog196743.9175
2Stefano Zanini199642.6884
3Bjarne Riis199741.6895
4Alexandre Vinokourov200341.6618
5Jan Raas198041.5740
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Slowest editions
Header Cell - Column 0 RiderYearSpeed (kph)
1Eddy Merckx197335.8554
2Eddy Merckx197537.2311
3Johan Museeuw199437.2609
4Michele Bartoli200237.2945
5Rolf Järmann199337.3438
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Winning group size
Header Cell - Column 0 RidersWinnerYear
160Bernard Hinault1981
252Olaf Ludwig1992
342Adrie van der Poel1990
417Michał Kwiatkowski2015
514Erik Zabel2000
611Michael Boogerd1999
711Jan Raas1980
811Arie den Hartog1967
910Danilo Di Luca2005
108Mathieu van der Poel2019
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Largest winning margins
Header Cell - Column 0 RiderYearMargin
1Freddy Maertens19764:29
2Gerrie Knetemann19743:21
3Eddy Merckx19733:13
4Jacques Hanegraaf19842:04
5Jan Raas19781:16

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Laura Weislo
Managing Editor

Laura Weislo has been with Cyclingnews since 2006 after making a switch from a career in science. As Managing Editor, she coordinates coverage for North American events and global news. As former elite-level road racer who dabbled in cyclo-cross and track, Laura has a passion for all three disciplines. When not working she likes to go camping and explore lesser traveled roads, paths and gravel tracks. Laura specialises in covering doping, anti-doping, UCI governance and performing data analysis.