Craig kicks off Nats with a win

Pruitt makes it her own

Beijing Olympics mountain bike representative Adam Craig blew away the competition in front of his hometown crowd to earn the first-ever singlespeed national title.

Third-place finisher Aaron Bradford rode out front for the first couple of laps before Craig was able to create a gap and grab his first 'cross Stars-and-Stripes jersey in style. J.T. Fountain gradually surged late in the race to earn the silver medal.

Another mountain biker, Kathy Pruitt, used her technical skills to pull away from the women’s singlespeed field following a pileup on the first lap. In only her fourth ‘cross race ever, the 2009 world championship downhill bronze medalist seemed rejuvenated in her quest for a different type of Stars-and-Stripes after suffering injury at this summer’s USA Cycling Mountain Bike National Championships.

“This is fun for me right now,” said Pruitt. “It’s a hoot - all muddy, slippery and crazy. It’s just such a fun sport." Just over a minute later Stella Carey (Felton, Calf./Velo Bella) crossed the line to earn the silver.


Cat 1/2/3/4/5 Men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Adam Craig (Giant/Rabobank)0:39:20 
2Jt Fountain (3Fcx/Cyclocrossracing.Com)0:00:50 
3Aaron Bradford (Specialized/Onsite Ultrasound)0:01:22 
4Jon Cariveau (Moots)0:01:58 
5Brennan Wodtli0:02:01 
6Cody Peterson0:02:06 
7Louie Fountain (3Fcx/Cyclocrossracing.Com)0:02:29 
8Nathanael Wyatt (Carolina Fatz Pb Santa Cruz Bic)0:02:43 
9Scott Chapin (Rocklobster!!!)0:02:47 
10John Rollert (Webcyclery Racing/Webcyclery.Co)0:02:52 
11Bo Pitkin0:03:06 
12Douglas Krumpelman (Coeur D 'Alene Velo Racers (Cda)0:03:09 
13Brent Prenzlow (Celo Pacific/B&L)0:03:17 
14Douglas Reid (Step Down Racing)0:03:31 
15Seth Patla0:03:33 
16Ian Crane (Lake Washington Velo)0:03:53 
17Brian Myers0:04:08 
18Patrick Wilder0:04:19 
19Luke Demoe0:04:26 
20Evan Plews0:04:37 
21Justin Morejohn (Davis Bike Club)0:04:45 
22Matthew Pronovost (Steamboat Velo P/D Moots)0:05:01 
23Eric Colton (The Team)0:05:02 
24Timothy Cannard0:05:21 
25Derek Yarra (Murder)0:05:35 
26Ryan Weaver (River City Bicycles)0:05:38 
27Michael Kennedy (Fetzer)0:05:39 
28Timothy Jones0:05:59 
29Reid Beloni (Carolina Bicycle Company/Subaru)  
30Slate Olson (Hup United)0:06:04 
31Shawn O'meara0:06:08 
32Derek Stallings (Webcyclery Racing/Bendbroadband)0:06:39 
33Cesar Chavez0:06:56 
34Darron Cheek0:07:07 
35Pat Schott0:07:10 
36Frederick Bottger (Pasadena Athletic Assoc (Paa)/P)0:07:12 
37Ty Hathaway0:07:13 
38Philip Sims (Santa Cruz County Cycling Club/)0:07:21 
39David Prause0:07:47 
40Jared Reber0:08:00 
41Jared Roy (Crossniacs)0:08:05 
42Bryan Voytilla0:08:09 
43Chad Cheeney (Durango Devo)0:08:22 
44Rainier Schaefer0:08:27 
45Evan Sarna (3Rd Rail Cycling Club/Missing L)0:08:28 
46Geoffrey Albert (The Team /The Team Socalcross)0:08:29 
47Brandon Wagner0:08:43 
48Alan Zinniker (Ritte Van Vlaanderen/Ritte Raci)0:09:17 
49Jeff Merwin0:09:21 
50Jamaica Lambie0:09:31 
51Steven Chaprnka0:09:36 
52Patrick Morrissey (Team Cross (Tcnm))0:10:49 
53 -1 lapKurt Wolfgang  
54Dylan Vanweelden  
55Kenton Berg (Step Down Racing/Second Ascent)  
56Ian Dewar (San Jose Bicycle Club/Sjbc)  
57Mark Campbell  
58Kirk Reisinger (Club Wissahickon)  
59Christopher Woodruff  
60William Youngman (Squadra Abruzzo)  
61Brian Milnick  
62Paule Bates (Team Roaring Mouse)  
63James Brown (Rad Racing Nw/Hagens Berman)  
64Franz Martin (Ragnarok Racing)  
65Joel Metz  
66David Chiu (Northeast Bicycle Club (Nebc)/N)  
67Daniel Sheerin  
68Paul Zweigart  
69Dwight Wyatt  
70Derek Leckrone  
71Jeffrey Nebolini  
72Michael Beck (Violet Crown Sports Assoc)  
73Reese Lindblad  
74John Collins  
75Dylan Cernitz  
76 -2 lapsR Lee Willmore (Celo Pacific)  
DNFCraig Etheridge  
DNFRon Shevock (Team Mad Cat)  
DNFDaniel Casper (Grandstay Hotels)  
DNFErik Horn (Gallatin Valley Bicycle Club/Te)  
DNFPaul Hernandez  
DNFChristopher Milliman (Hup United)  
DNFTerry Keele  
DNFDavid Volkert (Team Double Check)  
DNFDavid Sarmiento  
DNFMike Macdonald (Jaeger Wheelmen)  
DNFEddie Wang  
DNFBrian Koder (Cbc Racing/Olympia Orthopaedic)  
Cat 1/2/3/4/5
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Kathy Pruitt0:39:32 
2Stella Carey (Velo Bella)0:01:08 
3Megan Lawson0:01:31 
4Julie Lewis-Sroka (Lake Effect Cycling Team)0:02:35 
5Evie Edwards (Spokeswomen Syndicate Inc./Perf)0:03:07 
6Haley Juno-Galdes (Alto Velo Racing Club/Webcor/Al)0:03:54 
7Jadine Riley (Sound Velo Cycling Club/Team Gr)0:04:22 
8Dorothy Wong (The Team /The Team Socalcross)0:05:02 
9 -1 lapKathleen McMahon (Seattle Super Squadra/Cucina Fr)  
10Annette Padilla (Celo Pacific)  
DNFMarsa Daniel  
DNFKari Studley (Mafia Racing)  
DNFFrancesca Berrini  


Related Articles

Back to top