Flueckiger wins incident filled Mont Sainte-Anne World Cup

Schurter wraps up World Cup series win

Round 6 of the UCI Mountain Bike XCO World Cup at Mont Sainte-Anne, Quebec, saw multiple lead changes on Sunday, as leading contenders crashed or suffered mechanicals. In the end, it was Mathias Flueckiger (Thomus RN Racing) that prevailed, taking his first ever World Cup victory. World champion and World Cup leader Nino Schurter (Scott-SRAM) wrapped up the overall title with one race remaining in the series, despite finishing seventh after breaking his chain while in the lead.

A large group of riders headed out from the start loop at the front, which was gradually whittled down over the first couple of laps to just Schurter and New Zealand champion Anton Cooper (Trek Factory). The pair rode together until Schurter broke his chain on lap four, leaving Cooper alone at the front. He was joined by Flueckiger, Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Torpado Gabogas) and Titouan Carod (BMC) by the end of the lap.

Kerschbaumer crashed on the sixth lap, and Carod lost contact, leaving just Cooper and Flueckiger at the front. Coming down the rocky Beatrice descent, Cooper crashed hard, losing his bike off the side of the hill and having to scramble down to retrieve it. Flueckiger safely navigated the final lap to take his first win, with Kerschbaumer recovering to finish just in front of Carod.

"I'm so happy to win, because I've had bad luck before at World Cups," said Flueckiger. "In my career I've had many podiums and been close many times, but today everything came together. I felt good on Friday after getting third in the short track, but it's a really hard track here and the other guys were strong. In 2010 I won the under-23 World Championship here, so this track is really special for me."

In the overall standings, Schurter has an insurmountable lead with 1,546 points, 466 more than second place Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus), who did not race at Mont-Ste-Anne.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Mathias Flueckiger (Swi)1:27:26 
2Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita)0:00:15 
3Titouan Carod (Fra)0:00:23 
4Maxime Marotte (Fra)0:00:38 
5Luca Braidot (Ita)0:01:05 
6Anton Cooper (NZl)0:01:41 
7Nino Schurter (Swi)0:02:37 
8David Valero Serrano (Spa)0:02:59 
9Henrique Avancini (Bra)0:03:03 
10Daniele Braidot (Ita)0:03:09 
11Andri Frischknecht (Swi)0:03:17 
12Reto Indergand (Swi)0:03:27 
13Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (Spa)0:03:32 
14Jordan Sarrou (Fra)0:03:54 
15Lars Forster (Swi)0:04:07 
16Ondrej Cink (Cze)0:04:11 
17Gregor Raggl (Aut)0:04:19 
18Matthias Stirnemann (Swi)0:04:21 
19Jens Schuermans (Bel)0:04:34 
20Martin Loo (Est)  
21Nicola Rohrbach (Swi)0:05:10 
22Anton Sintsov (Rus)0:05:18 
23Bartlomiej Wawak (Pol)0:05:31 
24Marco Aurelio Fontana (Ita)0:05:56 
25Raphael Gagne (Can)0:06:05 
26Karl Markt (Aut)0:06:07 
27Stephane Tempier (Fra)0:06:16 
28Nadir Colledani (Ita)0:06:47 
29Victor Koretzky (Fra)0:07:04 
30Shlomi Haimy (Isr)0:07:13 
31Luke Vrouwenvelder (USA)0:07:15 
32Nicholas Pettina' (Ita)  
33Fabian Giger (Swi)0:07:45 
34Martin Fanger (Swi)0:07:58 
35Thomas Litscher (Swi)0:08:11 
36Peter Disera (Can)0:08:22 
37Andrew L'esperance (Can)0:08:49 
38Catriel Soto (Arg)0:09:05 
39Luiz Henrique Cocuzzi (Bra)0:09:08 
40Hugo Drechou (Fra)0:09:23 
41Keegan Swenson (USA)0:09:33 
42Michiel Van Der Heijden (Ned)0:09:40 
43Daniel Mcconnell (Aus)0:09:56 
44Leandre Bouchard (Can)0:10:08 
45Jan Vastl (Cze)0:11:00 
46Florian Chenaux (Swi)  
47Richard Cypress Gorry (USA)  
48Andrin Beeli (Swi)  
49Jan Škarnitzl (Cze)  
50Pablo Rodriguez Guede (Spa)  
51Alexandre Vialle (Can)  
52Thomas Griot (Fra)  
53Jaime Miranda Jaime (Mex)  
54Carlos Coloma Nicolas (Spa)  
55Ivan Seledkov (Rus)  
56Kohei Maeda (Jpn)  
57Gustavo Pedroza Sicaeros (Mex)  
DNFJaroslav Kulhavý (Cze)  
DNSSamuel Gaze (NZl)  
Back to top