TechPowered By

More tech

UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup #7 2011

Date range:
January 16, 2011

January 16, Elite Women:

Vos strongest in Pontchâteau

Brecht Decaluwé
January 16, 2011, 14:58 GMT,
January 16, 2011, 17:11 GMT

Van Paassen takes over World Cup lead

Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) wins alone

Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) wins alone

view thumbnail gallery

Cyclo-cross world champion Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) captured her first World Cup victory of the season in Pontchâteau, France. Hanka Kupfernagel was second at 24 seconds while Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Gauss) pleased the local fans with her third place finish.

World Cup leader Katherine Compton wasn't present in France and Sanne van Paassen (BrainWash) took over the white leader's jersey by finishing fourth in Pontchâteau.

Vos put the hammer down right from the start. Twenty-year-old Belgian champion Sanne Cant (BKCP-Powerplus) tried to keep up with Vos but quickly found out the long climbs didn't suit her capabilities. Only Ferrier-Bruneau and Kupfernagel had the necessary power to keep up with Vos and this trio had a 10-second gap over a chase group with Sophie de Boer (, Pauline Ferrand-Prevot and Van Paassen.

Vos put her companions in trouble on the long climb during the second lap but she couldn't drop them. One lap later, however, only Kupfernagel was able to stay with the reigning 'cross world champion.

During the fifth of six laps the 23-year-old Dutchwoman dropped Kupfernagel on a long sloping climb and soloed to the victory 24 seconds ahead the German national champion. Local rider Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Gauss) dug deep to keep up with the leading duo during the first two laps but she did manage to stay alone in third place, holding off new World Cup leader Sanne van Paassen (BrainWash) a minute off the pace of Vos.

In the World Cup standings Van Paassen took advantage of the absence of both Compton and third-placed Dutch champion Daphny van den Brand ( to take over the lead. During next week's last World Cup round in Hoogerheide, The Netherlands, Van Paassen should be able to clinch the overall victory on home soil if she can finish within the top five, a feat she has accomplished all season long.

Full Results
1 Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit 0:37:49  
2 Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Stevens Racing Team 0:00:24  
3 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) 0:00:52  
4 Sanne van Paassen (Ned) BrainWash 0:01:10  
5 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) 0:01:12  
6 Caroline Mani (Fra)    
7 Sophie de Boer (Ned) 0:01:14  
8 Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus 0:02:12  
9 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) APB Cycling Team 0:02:20  
10 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) BrainWash 0:02:48  
11 Katrin Leumann (Swi)    
12 Amy Dombroski (USA) 0:03:05  
13 Nikki Harris (GBr) APB Cycling Team 0:03:06  
14 Arenda Grimberg (Ned) 0:03:09  
15 Jasmin Achermann (Swi) Fischer-BMC    
16 Gabriella Day (GBr) The ChainStay-RENNER 0:03:13  
17 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona 0:03:32  
18 Natasha Elliott (Can) Garneau Club Chaussure-Ogilvy 0:03:41  
19 Linda van Rijen (Ned) 0:03:46  
20 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) 0:03:52  
21 Martina Zwick (Ger) 0:03:56  
22 Nadia Triquet-Claude (Fra) 0:04:01  
23 Martina Mikulaskova (Cze) 0:04:38  
24 Nancy Bober (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team 0:04:48  
25 Bénédicte Herve (Fra) 0:05:06  
26 Camille Darcel (Fra) 0:06:00  
27 Aurélia Dupont (Fra)  -1lap  
World Cup standings after round 6
1 Sanne van Paassen (Ned) BrainWash 270 pts
2 Katherine Compton (USA) 240  
3 Daphny van den Brand (Ned) 190  
4 Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus 173  
5 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) APB Cycling Team 172  
6 Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) 167  
7 Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit 160  
8 Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Stevens Racing Team 148  
9 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona 140  
10 Sophie de Boer (Ned) 137  
11 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team 135  
12 Caroline Mani (Fra) 126  
13 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) 108  
14 Linda van Rijen (Ned) 107  
15 Sabrina Schweizer (Ger) 101  
16 Arenda Grimberg (Ned) 100  
17 Jasmin Achermann (Swi) Fischer-BMC 97  
18 Nikki Harris (GBr) APB Cycling Team 94  
19 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) BrainWash 93  
20 Nadia Triquet-Claude (Fra) 67  
21 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) 62  
22 Gabriella Day (GBr) The ChainStay-RENNER 61  
23 Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) 49  
24 Susan Butler (USA) Hudz-Subaru 48  
25 Amy Dombroski (USA) 43  
26 Martina Zwick (Ger) 39  
27 Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) 39  
28 Nancy Bober (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team 34  
29 Elisabeth Brandau (Ger) 28  
30 Martina Mikulaskova (Cze) 23  
31 Jana Kyptova (Cze) 22  
32 Katrin Leumann (Swi) 20  
33 Nicole De Bie - Leyten (Bel) APB Cycling Team 16  
34 Natasha Elliott (Can) Garneau Club Chaussure-Ogilvy 13  
35 Sabine Spitz (Ger) Central Pro Team 13  
36 Tessa Van Nieuwpoort (Ned) 12  
37 Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles 11  
38 Nicoletta Bresciani (Ita) 10  
39 Daniela Bresciani (Ita) 9  
40 Gertie Willems (Bel) 7  
41 Bénédicte Herve (Fra) 6  
42 Camille Darcel (Fra) 5  
43 Helena van Leijen (Ned) 5  
44 Aurélia Dupont (Fra) 4  
45 Nikoline Hansen (Den) 3  
46 Margriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den) Hitec Products UCK 3  
47 Dorota Warczyk (Pol) 2  
48 Christine Vardaros (USA) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team 1  
49 Francesca Cucciniello (Ita) Guerciotti 1