Unbeatable Compton slides to World Cup lead

US champion holds off Dutch trio

US champion Katie Compton (Planet Bike) grabbed her fourth World Cup win of the season on the snow-covered course up and around the car circuit of Zolder in Belgium. Compton overtook Sanne van Paassen (Brainwash) in the World Cup rankings.

“We were all struggling and there was probably a good reason why the crowds were gathering at the steep drops. I crashed a lot but the snow is forgiving. I figured the riders behind me crashed a lot, too,” Compton said.

“I'm happy with the World Cup lead even though I'm only going to keep it until the next World Cup round,” Compton said. The 32-year-old American champion will skip the next round of the World Cup in Pont-Château, France, as she heads back home to Colorado. Compton will return to Europe for the final round in Hoogerheide in the Netherlands, which will be held one week before the world championships in Sankt-Wendel, Germany.

Compton trashed the opposition right from the start and despite several crashes, nobody was able to keep up with the US national champion. Early on, Van Paassen was the first chaser, but she quickly realized she was racing for second place. “Katie Compton is very strong, but technically I think the difference wasn't big,” Van Paassen said.

At almost a minute from Compton, world champion Marianne Vos (Nederland Bloeit) won a hard-fought battle ahead of compatriot Van Paassen. “It was a matter of staying upright. Katie has the guts to do this; she's not afraid of anything,” Vos said.

At more than two minutes from the winner, Daphny van den Brand (ZZPR.nl) won the sprint for fourth place from Pavla Havlikova (Czech Republic). Sabrina Schweizer (Germany) was a surprising name in sixth position.

British champion Helen Wyman (Kona) never felt comfortable in the snow and eventually finished in 12th position, just ahead of Belgian champion Sanne Cant (BKCP-Powerplus).

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Katherine Compton (USA) Planet Bike-Stevens Bikes0:39:58 
2Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit0:00:54 
3Sanne van Paassen (Ned) BrainWash0:01:29 
4Daphny van den Brand (Ned) ZZPR.nl0:02:10 
5Pavla Havlikova (Cze) APB Cycling Team0:02:11 
6Sabrina Schweizer (Ger)0:02:28 
7Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra)0:02:47 
8Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope0:02:48 
9Linda van Rijen (Ned)0:03:07 
10Jasmin Achermann (Swi) Fischer-BMC0:03:35 
11Caroline Mani (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope0:03:52 
12Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona0:04:57 
13Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus0:05:20 
14Nikki Harris (GBr) APB Cycling Team0:05:41 
15Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) BrainWash0:06:01 
16Ellen Van Loy (Bel)0:06:30 
17Elisabeth Brandau (Ger)0:06:31 
18Nadia Triquet-Claude (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope0:07:20 
19Susan Butler (USA) Hudz-Subaru0:07:25 
20Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles0:07:36 
21Nicoletta Bresciani (Ita)0:08:01 
22Arenda Grimberg (Ned)0:08:20 
23Gabriella Day (GBr) The ChainStay-Renner0:08:53 
24Sophie de Boer (Ned) ZZPR.nl  
25Daniela Bresciani (Ita)0:09:05 
26Nancy Bober (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team0:09:16 
27Tessa Van Nieuwpoort (Ned)0:09:36 
28Nikoline Hansen (Den)0:09:46 
-1lapMargriet Helena Kloppenburg (Den) Hitec Products Uck  
-1lapNicole De Bie - Leyten (Bel) APB Cycling Team  
-1lapAnne Arnouts (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team  
-1lapMartina Mikulaskova (Cze)  
-1lapGertie Willems (Bel)  
-1lapHelena van Leijen (Ned)  
-1lapNathalie Nijns (Bel)  
-1lapChristine Vardaros (USA) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team  
-1lapJoyce Vanderbeken (Bel)  
-2lapsAyako Toyooka (Jpn)  
DNFMeredith Miller (USA) Tibco - To The Top  
DNSReza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) ZZPR.nl  
DNSHanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Itera-Stevens  
World Cup standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Katherine Compton (USA) Planet Bike-Stevens Bikes240 pts
2Sanne van Paassen (Ned) BrainWash230 
3Daphny van den Brand (Ned) ZZPR.nl190 
4Pavla Havlikova (Cze) APB Cycling Team148 
5Sanne Cant (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus147 
6Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team135 
7Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona126 
8Christel Ferrier-Bruneau (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope122 
9Sophie de Boer (Ned) ZZPR.nl109 
10Sabrina Schweizer (Ger)101 
11Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit100 
12Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Itera-Stevens98 
13Caroline Mani (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope96 
14Linda van Rijen (Ned)95 
15Arenda Grimberg (Ned)83 
16Jasmin Achermann (Swi) Fischer-BMC81 
17Nikki Harris (GBr) APB Cycling Team76 
18Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra)73 
19Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) BrainWash71 
20Nadia Triquet-Claude (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope58 
21Ellen Van Loy (Bel)51 
22Reza Hormes-Ravenstijn (Ned) ZZPR.nl49 
23Susan Butler (USA) Hudz-Subaru48 
24Gabriella Day (GBr) The ChainStay-Renner46 
25Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel)39 
26Martina Zwick (Ger)29 
27Elisabeth Brandau (Ger)28 
28Nancy Bober (Bel) Style & Concept Cycling Team27 
29Amy Dombroski (USA) Luna Pro Team24 
30Jana Kyptova (Cze)22 
31Nicole De Bie - Leyten (Bel) APB Cycling Team16 
32Martina Mikulaskova (Cze)15 
33Sabine Spitz (Ger) Central Pro Team13 
34Tessa Van Nieuwpoort (Ned)12 
35Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob's Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles11 
36Nicoletta Bresciani (Ita)10 
37Daniela Bresciani (Ita)9 
38Gertie Willems (Bel)7 
39Helena van Leijen (Ned)5 
40Nikoline Hansen (Den)3 
41Margriet Helena Kloppenburg3 
42Dorota Warczyk (Pol)2 
43Christine Vardaros (USA) Baboco - Revor Cycling Team1 
44Francesca Cucciniello (Ita) Guerciotti1 

Related Articles

Back to top