Colbrelli wins Coppa Sabatini

Finetto and Pellizotti round out top three

Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani-CSF) continued his late-season run of form with victory in the GP Peccioli-Coppa Sabatini, where he saw off Mauro Finetto (Neri Sottoli) and Franco Pellizotti (Androni-Venezuela) in the uphill sprint finish.

In spite of a flurry of attacks on the final uphill haul to the line, nobody could break the deadlock in the finale and Colbrelli duly claimed an emphatic victory in the sprint, overhauling Finetto to take the win. Pellizzoti managed to hold off the veteran Davide Rebellin (CCC Polsat) for third, while Enrico Battaglin (Bardiani-CSF) took fifth.

The victory was Colbrelli’s third in the past month, following the Memorial Pantani and the GP Industria & Commercio di Prato. The 24-year-old was also Italy’s highest finisher (13th) at the Ponferrada world championships and raced in the Tour of Almaty in Kazakhstan last weekend.

The opening section of Thursday’s race was animated by a sizeable break featuring Davide Formolo (Cannondale), and when they were reeled in, a move comprising Giuseppe Fonzi (Neri Sottoli), Jacques Janse Van Rensburg (MTN-Qhubeka) and Pablo Valencia (Colombia).

With Bardiani-CSF leading the peloton, however, their lead never stretched far beyond 2:30 and one by one, the trio was picked off, with Valencia the final survivor out front. Kristijan Durasek (Lampre-Merida) was among the riders who attempting to forge clear on the finishing circuit but his move failed to gain traction, and instead the honours were decided in the final kilometre, where Colbrelli delivered his telling blow.


Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani CSF4:38:25 
2Mauro Finetto (Ita) Neri Sottoli0 
3Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0 
4Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Polsat Polkowice0 
5Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Bardiani CSF0 
6Davide Villella (Ita) Cannondale0 
7Davide Vigano (Ita) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA0 
8Niccolo Bonifazio (Ita) Lampre-Merida0 
9Amets Txurruka (Spa) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA0 
10Robinson Eduar Chalapud Gomez (Col) Colombia0 
11Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Colombia0 
12Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale0 
13Valerio Conti (Ita) Lampre-Merida0 
14Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert0 
15Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) MTN - Qhubeka  
16Sergey Lagutin (Rus) Rusvelo0:00:16 
17Michel Kreder (Ned) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
18Karel Hnik (Cze) MTN - Qhubeka  
19Antonio Parrinello (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
20Hubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
21Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Spa) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA  
22Marco Minnaard (Ned) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
23François Bidard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
24David Arroyo Duran (Spa) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA  
25Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannondale  
26Fabio Taborre (Ita) Neri Sottoli  
27Maciej Paterski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
28Francesco Failli (Ita) Neri Sottoli  
29Francis De Greef (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
30Adrian Honkisz (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
31Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (Col) Colombia  
32Ivan Balykin (Rus) Rusvelo  
33Sergey Firsanov (Rus) Rusvelo  
34Francesco Manuel Bongiorno (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
35Karol Domagalski (Pol) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA  
36Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale  
37Kirill Pozdnyakov (Rus) Rusvelo  
38Rodolfo Andres Torres Agudelo (Col) Colombia  
39Diego Rosa (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:00:49 
40Dennis Van Niekerk (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka  
41Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
42Sergei Pomoshnikov (Rus) Rusvelo  
43Tiziano Dall'antonia (Ita) Androni Giocattoli0:01:01 
44Simone Ponzi (Ita) Neri Sottoli  
45Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
46Eduardo Godoy (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
47Kristijan Durasek (Cro) Lampre-Merida  
48Marcos Garcia (Spa) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA  
49Antonio Piedra Perez (Spa) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA  
50Louis Meintjes (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka  
51Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
52Bartlomiej Matysiak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice0:01:51 
53Adrian Kurek (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
54Lukasz Owsian (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
55Nikolay Mihaylov (Bul) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
56Gianfranco Zilioli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
57Matej Mohoric (Slo) Cannondale  
58Moreno Moser (Ita) Cannondale  
59Elia Viviani (Ita) Cannondale  
60Andrea Zordan (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
61Mirko Selvaggi (Ita) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
62Mateusz Taciak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice  
63Sergey Klimov (Rus) Rusvelo  
64Andrea Fedi (Ita) Neri Sottoli  
65Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Colombia  
66Paolo Longo Borghini (Ita) Cannondale  
67Yonattah Monsalve (Ven) Neri Sottoli  
68Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
69Matteo Montaguti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale  
70Angelo Pagani (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
71Rafael Andriato (Bra) Neri Sottoli  
72Luca Dodi (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
73Elia Favilli (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
74Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Rusvelo  
75Adrien Niyonshuti (Rwa) MTN - Qhubeka  
76Andrea Piechele (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
DNFMatteo Bono (Ita) Lampre-Merida  
DNFGuillaume Bonnafond (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale  
DNFMarco Bandiera (Ita) Androni Giocattoli  
DNFGarcia Carlos Jhoan Galviz (Ven) Androni Giocattoli  
DNFEnrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
DNFStefano Pirazzi (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
DNFEdoardo Zardini (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
DNFStefano Locatelli (Ita) Bardiani CSF  
DNFSamuele Conti (Ita) Neri Sottoli  
DNFGiorgio Cecchinel (Ita) Neri Sottoli  
DNFGiuseppe Fonzi (Ita) Neri Sottoli  
DNFHeiner Rodrig Parra Bustamente (Col) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA  
DNFFrancesco Lasca (Ita) Caja Rural - Seguros RGA  
DNFJuan Pablo Valencia (Col) Colombia  
DNFEdward Fabian Diaz Cardenas (Col) Colombia  
DNFCarlos Julian Quintero (Col) Colombia  
DNFDuber Ar Quintero Artunduaga (Col) Colombia  
DNFNick Dougall (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka  
DNFTsgabu Gebremaryam Grmay (Eth) MTN - Qhubeka  
DNFJacques Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka  
DNFSongezo Jim (RSA) MTN - Qhubeka  
DNFFerekalsi Debesay Abrha (Eri) MTN - Qhubeka  
DNFTimofey Kritskiy (Rus) Rusvelo  
DNFFrederik Backaert (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
DNFDanilo Napolitano (Ita) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  
DNFKevin Seeldraeyers (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert  

Related Articles

Back to top