Powers too strong for Johnson and Trebon

Rapha-Focus rider wins first event in Shimano New England Pro CX Series

The much anticipated opening round of the Shimano New England Pro CX Series’ Gran Prix of Gloucester on Saturday did not disappoint with Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus) coming out with the win ahead of Ryan Trebon (Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld) and Tim Johnson (Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld).

While the rain did finally stop in time for the starts of both men's and women's events, the damage to the course was already done from two days of heavy rain and some 800 racers on course during the morning events.

Powers (Rapha-Focus) turned a few heads early on when he crossed the line to start the first lap outside the top ten. A sizable lead group comprised of Tim Johnson (Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld), Ben Berden (Raleigh/Clement), Nicolas Bazin (Big Mat – Auber 93), Ian Field (Hargrove Cycles/Specialized), Dylan McNicholas (CyclocrossWorld.com), Jesse Anthony (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies), Brian Matter (Kenda – Geargrinder), and Ryan Trebon (Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld) recognized Powers’ absence and pushed the pace early, but by the end of the first lap Powers was able to make contact.

“I was looking at the official on the start, waiting for the whistle,” said Powers after the race, “and they ended up blowing it from the back, New England-Style. I was caught a little off-guard.”

While Johnson, Berden and Field pushed the pace at the front of the group, Powers methodically moved his way up through the group and by halfway through the 60 minute race, it was eventually Powers and the two Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld riders, Trebon and Johnson, who were able to lash out at the lead group, finally breaking free.

While the lead trio of Americans took turns attacking each other at the front, a European trio of Bazin, Berden, and Field assembled and gave chase. Chasing on their own, a mere 15 to 20 seconds behind the second threesome were Jamey Driscoll (Cannondale p/b CyclocrossWorld) and current U23 US National Champion Zach McDonald (Rapha-Focus).

Berden, who was taking chances in the technical, off-camber sections of the course, was able to bridge with four laps remaining in the race, but it wasn’t long until an attack from Trebon was countered by an attack from Powers and Berden was again sent backwards. Johnson, meanwhile, fell victim to a flat front tire and after making a bike change, he returned to the course in 6th place, behind a lonely Ian Field.

Johnson said of his flat tire, “It was just a really crappy time to get a flat tire, because that was when the race was just getting going. I feel like, if I didn’t get a flat, I would have been in there, at least with a chance to win.”

With two laps to go, after multiple attacks from both Trebon and Powers, the Rapha-Focus rider was finally able to open up a small gap. Shortly after losing contact with Powers’ wheel, however, Trebon also fell victim to a front flat tire and was forced to limp around the course for close to a half lap. It was this mechanical that would eventually end Trebon’s chances of victory.

“I noticed coming past the finish line with two laps to go that my front tire was going soft and I nearly rolled it off the rim. I just couldn’t turn and I had to take it really easy just to save my bike,” said a disappointed Trebon about his bad luck. “The pits are just in a bad place out there, it’s just really fast and, you know, you take a bike change, you lose 20 seconds and it’s hard to make it up.”

Jeremy Powers rode the last two laps of the race flawlessly and crossed the line alone, 15 seconds ahead of Ryan Trebon. Johnson was able to limit his losses after the flat tire and worked his way back around Berden and Field to finish 3rd, just seven seconds behind his lanky teammate. Berden crossed the line 4th and Field finished the day in 5th.

When asked if Jeremy Powers was beatable, Johnson said, “Jeremy’s got good form, but he’s definitely not unbeatable. You know, we’re just trying to get there, that’s all.”

Full Results
1Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus1:00:13 
2Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld0:00:15 
3Timothy Johnson (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld0:00:22 
4Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh-Clement0:00:39 
5Ian Field (GBr) Hargroves Cycles-Specialized0:00:46 
6James Driscoll (USA) Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld0:01:10 
7Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha-Focus0:01:37 
8Nicolas Bazin (Fra) Big-Mat Auber 930:01:54 
9Brian Matter (USA) RACC p/b Geargrinder0:01:59 
10Jesse Anthony (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:02:00 
11Dylan McNicholas (USA) cyclocrossworld.com0:02:06 
12Tristan Schouten (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies0:02:27 
13Christopher Jones (USA) Rapha-Focus0:02:53 
14Yannick Eckmann (Ger) Cal Giant Berry Farms/Specialized0:02:58 
15Dan Timmerman (USA) Richard Sachs - RGM Watches - Radix0:03:02 
16Evan McNeely (Can) Specialized Canada0:03:12 
17Anthony Clark (USA) JAM Fund / NCC0:03:14 
18Bradley White (USA) Moms in Tow Cyclocross0:03:37 
19Travis Livermon (USA) Mock Orange Bikes0:03:43 
20Justin Lindine (USA) Redline0:03:46 
21Jeremy Durrin (USA) JAM Fund / NCC0:03:54 
22Barry Wicks (USA) Kona0:03:58 
23Craig Richey (Can) SponsorConnected.com0:04:00 
24Christian Favata (USA) Richard Sachs - RGM Watches - Radix0:04:03 
25Manny Goguen (USA) C.F. Racing p/b Trek Portsmouth0:04:21 
26Daniel Chabanov (USA) Richard Sachs - RGM Watches - Radix0:04:54 
27Nicholas Keough (USA) www.keoughcyclocross.com0:05:07 
28Adam Myerson (USA) Team SmartStop/Mountain Khakis0:05:33 
29Eric Tonkin (USA) Kona/Team S&M0:05:38 
30Jeffrey Bahnson (USA) Van Dessel Factory Team0:06:07 
31Thomas Sampson (USA) JAM Fund / NCC0:06:13 
32Andrew L'Esperance (Can) Norco Factory Team  
33Joël Desgreniers (Can) Ride with Rendall  
34Mike Garrigan (Can) stagerace0:06:15 
35Sheldon Miller (USA) Bikeman.com0:06:17 
36Adam St. Germain (USA) NBX Bikes/Quadfire Racing/Narragans0:06:24 
37Marc-Andre Daigle (Can) Garneau-Quebecor0:06:25 
38Michael Broderick (USA) Team Kenda-Seven-NoTubes0:06:45 
39Chase Dickens (USA) American Classic Pro Cyclocross Team0:10:17 
40Jesse Keough (USA) www.keoughcyclocross.com  
41Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar  
42Garrett McLeod (Can) Team H&R Block  
43Joshua Thornton (USA) St. Pete Bike and Fitness  
44Jonathan Schottler (USA) Cannondale  
45Synjen Marrocco (USA) CyclocrossWorld.com  
46Joachim Parbo (Den) Hammel CK  
47Luke Demoe (USA)  
48Mark McCormack (USA) Clif Bar/Pactimo  
49Patrick Chartrand (Can) Les Yables/Rocky Mountain  
50Jean-Philippe Thibault-Roberge (Can) Trek-Bontrager  
51Benjamin Padilla (USA)  
52Felix Wilberg (Can)  
53Sylvain Jean (Can)  
54Jonathan Hamblen (USA) Mock Orange Bikes  
55Geoffrey Bouchard (USA) NBX Bikes/Narragansett Beer p/b Apex  
56John Herrick (USA)  
57Evan Huff (USA) BikeReg.com / Joe's Garage  
58John Burns (USA) Burns Racing  
59Charles Schubert (USA) Bikes Not Bombs / Circle A Cycles  
60Maksym Shepitko (Ukr) Hudson Furniture Racing Team  
61Jeffrey Elie (USA) Riverside Racing  
62Matteo Dal-Cin (Can) Ride with Rendall  
63Johannes Huseby (USA) Cannondale  
64Thierry Laliberté (Can) Xprezo-Borsao  
65Alex Cox (USA) CCB Racing  
66Pierre-Olivier Boily (Can) Siboire  
67Colin Reuter (USA) pedalpowertraining.com  
68Adam Sullivan (USA) Embrocation Cycling Journal  
69Ian Schon (USA) B2C2 p/b Boloco  
70Donny Green (USA)  
71Timothy Durrin (USA) NYCross  
72Cary Fridrich (USA) Mad Alchemy/Verge Rider Cooperative  
73Evan Murphy (USA) NYC Velo  
74Noah Tautfest (USA) Bicycle Express/Kona Bikes  
75Eric Lundgren (USA) JBV Coaching  
76Michael Green (USA) Bicycle Therapy / Melitta  
77Kiernan Orange (Can) Ride with Rendall  
78Donald Snoop (USA) Essex County Velo  
79Andrew Lysaght (USA) B2C2 p/b Boloco  
80Michael Garrett (USA) MIT-FXDD  
81Michael Wissell (USA) B2C2 p/b Boloco  
82Gordon Daniell (USA) CRCA/W+D Racing  
83Alex Grabau (USA)  
Back to top