TechPowered By

More tech

French Championships 2009

Date range:
June 25-28, 2009

June 25, Time trial: Saint-Brieuc - Saint-Brieuc 44.3km

Chavanel upset by mountain biker Peraud

Daniel Simms
June 25, 2009, 13:53 BST,
June 26, 2009, 17:42 BST

56th title for evergreen Longo-Ciprelli

Jean-Christophe Peraud celebrates after taking the French TT title.

Jean-Christophe Peraud celebrates after taking the French TT title.

view thumbnail gallery

Mountain bike star beats Chavanel!

By Jean-François Quénet in Saint-Brieuc, France

Super favourite Sylvain Chavanel remains the best French professional cyclist for time trial but he has lost his title to mountain biker Jean-Christophe Péraud who rode 24 seconds faster than him on the difficult and technical course of Saint-Brieuc.

Péraud, 32, was the silver medallist at Beijing Olympics for mountain biking. "Only a gold medal at the Olympics could have been better than this French title," said Péraud who is also the defending champion for amateur road race at the French championship. He'll ride for another blue, white and red jersey on Saturday.

Chavanel hopes that "losing the time trial is a good sign (for Sunday's road race) because nobody has made the double in the history."

At the intermediate times, Chavanel was never in a situation to lead the race. "I didn't know about that until 10km to go when I asked my directeur sportif (Rik Verbrugghe) who told me that I was 25 seconds behind the best time," said the Quick Step rider. "I didn't have my usual pedalling style. I'm not proud of finishing second."

On the other hand, local boy David Le Lay was delighted to go on the podium of a French championship for the first time. "I'm only one second ahead of the fourth rider (AG2R's Christophe Riblon) and I would have been extremely disappointed to miss the top three at home," commented the Saint-Brieuc-based rider from Agritubel.

Chavanel and Le Lay also have the Tour de France in mind while Péraud will return to mountain biking. "It remains my priority", he insisted. "I don't see myself representing France at the world championship for time trial. I like cycling but I love mountain biking. I'm not prepared to quit MTB but I aim at confronting myself to the best road rider. I would like to join a professional road team and combine road and MTB. I'm not sure about London Olympics though. I'll be 35 in 2012. Cycling is an endurance sport suitable for old athletes but I'll wait for one more year to determine myself about focusing on London or not."

Péraud works as a part-time engineer for a thermo hydraulic station. He has shown to the world of road riders how good cyclists mountain bikers are.

Longo nets 56th national title

Jeannie Longo-Ciprelli (Rhone Alpes) claimed the French women's national time trial title today in Saint Brieuc. Averaging 41.85km/h over the 23.5km course Ciprelli-Longo finished 33 seconds ahead of professional teammate Edwidge Pitel and Marina Jaunatre (Vienne Futuroscope).

For Ciprelli-Longo, 50, the win adds an incredible 56th national title to her extensive palmares.

Elite Men
1 Jean-Christophe Peraud (Creusot Cyclisme) 0:58:07  
2 Sylvain Chavanel (Quickstep) 0:00:24  
3 David Lelay (Agritubel) 0:00:39  
4 Christophe Riblon (AG2R La Mondiale) 0:00:40  
5 Jérôme Coppel (Francaise Des Jeux) 0:01:04  
6 Jérôme Pineau (Quickstep) 0:01:17  
7 Dimitri Champion (Bretagne Schuller) 0:01:24  
8 Julien Fouchard (Cotes d'Armor Cyclisme) 0:01:38  
9 Sylvain Georges (Creusot Cyclisme) 0:01:51  
10 Anthony Roux (Francaise Des Jeux) 0:01:55  
11 Nicolas Vogondy (Agritubel) 0:01:56  
12 Benoît Vaugrenard (Francaise Des Jeux) 0:01:59  
13 Thomas Girard (Chambery Cyclisme Formation) 0:02:04  
14 Nicolas Boisson (CC Etupes / Le Doubs Pays De Montbeliard) 0:02:06  
15 Tony Gallopin (Auber93) 0:02:14  
16 Christophe Kern (Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne) 0:02:26  
17 Lilian Jegou (Bretagne Schuller) 0:02:31  
18 Sébastien Joly (Francaise Des Jeux) 0:02:35  
19 Amaël Moinard (Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne) 0:02:40  
20 Matthieu Sprick (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) 0:02:41  
21 Romain Bacon (Ile De France) 0:02:42  
22 Kilian Patour (Garmin Slipstream Pro Cycling Team) 0:02:43  
23 Damien Monier (Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne) 0:02:44  
24 Romain Sicard (Orbea) 0:03:00  
25 Maxime Bouet (Agritubel) 0:03:01  
26 Paul Poux (Mosaic-Diffusion. Com/Top 16) 0:03:11  
27 Yann Moritz (Vendee U) 0:03:13  
28 Damien Gaudin (Bbox Bouygues Telecom) 0:03:26  
29 Gaël Malacarne (Bretagne Schuller) 0:03:44  
30 Peter Brouzes (CC Nogent Sur Oise) 0:03:46  
31 Romain Lemarchand (Ile De France) 0:03:51  
32 Matthieu Boulo (Bretagne) 0:03:56  
33 Morgan Chedhomme (Auber93) 0:04:00  
34 Nicolas Baldo (Continental Team Differdange) 0:04:01  
35 Fabrice Jeandesboz (Besson-Sojasun) 0:04:02  
36 David Boucher (Landbouwkrediet - Colnago) 0:04:12  
37 Julien Antomarchi (VC La Pomme Marseille) 0:04:21  
38 Vincent Aldebert (Provence)    
39 Florian Morizot (Besson-Sojasun) 0:04:25  
40 Benoît Ebrard (Cotes d'Armor Cyclisme) 0:04:29  
41 Cyril Bessy (Besson-Sojasun) 0:04:42  
42 Sébastien Fournet-Fayard (Carmiooro - A Style) 0:04:52  
43 Daniel Hoareau (AVC Aix En Provence)    
44 Nicolas Rousseau (AG2R La Mondiale) 0:04:57  
45 Laurent Gangloff (Lorraine) 0:08:23  
. Willy Roseau (Martinique)    
. Julien Berard (Chambery Cyclisme Formation)    

Elite Women (23.5km)
1 Jeannie Longo Ciprelli (Rhone Alpes) 0:33:42  
2 Edwige Pitel (Rhone Alpes) 0:00:33  
3 Marina Jaunatre (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:00:59  
4 Julie Krasniak (Lorraine) 0:01:35  
5 Mélodie Lesueur (Esgl93-Gsd Festion) 0:01:46  
6 Caroline Mani (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:01:51  
7 Pascale Jeuland (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:02:37  
8 Sophie Creux (Esgl93-Gsd Festion) 0:02:48  
9 Julie Augizeau (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:02:48  
10 Audrey Cordon (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:02:55  
11 Jennifer Fischer (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:03:10  
12 Florence Girardet (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:03:15  
13 Annick Le Helley (Ile De France) 0:03:45  
14 Emilie Blanquefort (Aquitaine) 0:03:47  
15 Stéphanie Baud (Bourgogne) 0:03:57  
16 Jennifer Letue (Esgl93-Gsd Festion) 0:03:58  
17 Juliane Wibert (Lorraine) 0:04:00  
18 Marie Laure Cloarec (Ile De France) 0:04:03  
19 Emmanuelle Merlot (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:04:11  
20 Amélie Rivat (Rhone Alpes) 0:04:22  
21 Nathalie Jeuland (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:04:25  
22 Mélanie Bravard (Poitou Charentes) 0:04:45  
23 Isabelle Ferrer (Bourgogne) 0:04:57  
24 Kelly Gambier (Ile De France) 0:05:07  
25 Estelle Patou (Esgl93-Gsd Festion) 0:05:12  
26 Magalie Finot Laivier (Bourgogne) 0:05:27  
27 Béatrice Thomas (Esgl93-Gsd Festion) 0:05:35  
28 Lucie De Carlo (Champagne Ardenne) 0:05:45  
29 Susan Charleux Smith (Auvergne) 0:05:46  
30 Fiona Dutriaux (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:05:50  
31 Florence Dony (Auvergne) 0:05:56  
32 Anaïs Valiavanos (Champagne Ardenne) 0:06:00  
33 Alna Burato (Champagne Ardenne) 0:06:11  
Espoir women (23.5km)
1 Julie Krasniak (Lorraine) 0:35:17  
2 Mélodie Lesueur (Esgl93-Gsd Festion) 0:00:12  
3 Caroline Mani (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:00:17  
4 Pascale Jeuland (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:01:02  
5 Julie Augizeau (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:01:13  
6 Audrey Cordon (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:01:21  
7 Jennifer Fischer (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:01:35  
8 Emilie Blanquefort (Aquitaine) 0:02:12  
9 Jennifer Letue (Esgl93-Gsd Festion) 0:02:23  
10 Juliane Wibert (Lorraine) 0:02:25  
11 Amélie Rivat (Rhone Alpes) 0:02:48  
12 Mélanie Bravard (Poitou Charentes) 0:03:10  
13 Kelly Gambier (Ile De France) 0:03:33  
14 Lucie De Carlo (Champagne Ardenne) 0:04:10  
15 Fiona Dutriaux (Vienne Futuroscope) 0:04:15